Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

A Game of Thrones (first edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Supporting Routed Units rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Peter van Hardenberg
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Is it possible to support routed units, or is an attacker moving into an area containing only routed units automatically successful?

-pvh
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rusty McFisticuffs
United States
Arcata
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't see anything saying that routed units can't be supported. It looks to me like you would run it as a normal battle.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Travis Hall
Australia
Brisbane
Queensland
flag msg tools
Yes, you can support routed units. Routed units have a strength of 0 and cannot retreat, but otherwise are treated the same as any other unit.

(Something I haven't checked on, and can't remember - I'm not sure whether routed units can be taken as casualties due to sword icons.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rusty McFisticuffs
United States
Arcata
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wraith wrote:
(Something I haven't checked on, and can't remember - I'm not sure whether routed units can be taken as casualties due to sword icons.)

They can't; that's in the second-to-last paragraph on p. 14.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Van Biesbrouck
Canada
St Catharines
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
FFG, in the rules, wrote:
Routed units have no combat strength. They still count towards a player s Supply limit, but if a routed unit is forced to retreat again in the same game turn, it is automatically destroyed. Routed units may never be taken as casualties in battle. Routed units may not participate in a march, even if a March order token is resolved at their new location. After all March orders have been resolved for the turn, return all routed units to their normal upright position.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony Chriscoe
United States
Palatine
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmb
Also keep in mind that when routed units are attacked, you still play a character card to modify your attack total. So with support and a little luck on card picks, routed units can in turn create more routed units.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.