Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

World of Warcraft: The Boardgame» Forums » Rules

Subject: Arcane Missile is confusing me.. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tengeo Johusa
msg tools
Hi, i have a question in need of an answer.

The ability state" add 2 blue dice to your pool" and cost 2 energy to use, in addition "if you did not lose any health in previous combat round, you may use arcane missiles without paying its cost"

So does the ability allow you to use arcane missile continuously without losing energy as long you meet the criteria(a)

or it is only applied to the next round and after that, even though you meet the criteria, you would have to pay for the energy cost to refresh the ability thus only allow one free cast.(b)

IMO,if your are using (a),the ability is pretty overpower considering that the rule allow you to choose how you want to allocate the wound between your party. The mage can technically spam 2 blue without paying mana cost for almost every round if play right.

(b)is a much balance abilities as you spend 2 energy to get a 2 blue and a chance to have free 2 blue on the next round. Considering its a lv 2 ability.

Hopefully somebody can addresse to this. !
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike zebrowski
United States
Unspecified
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
It is choice a. The key thing to remember is that you have to use it every round in order to continue using the secondary ability.

Powerful? Maybe.
Overpowered? No.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wower wrote:
IMO,if your are using (a),the ability is pretty overpower considering that the rule allow you to choose how you want to allocate the wound between your party. The mage can technically spam 2 blue without paying mana cost for almost every round if play right.


Most battles only last one or two rounds. It seems fine to me.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tengeo Johusa
msg tools
Mike Zebrowski wrote:
It is choice a. The key thing to remember is that you have to use it every round in order to continue using the secondary ability.

Powerful? Maybe.
Overpowered? No.


So am i right to say you can only have one free cast(the secondary ability)? You would have to pay the cost again to activate the instant power after the free cast even though you did not lost any health at the previous round?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike zebrowski
United States
Unspecified
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
Yes and No.

Here is an example (assuming that you never take damage):

Round 1) You pay the full energy cost for AM.

Round 2) You must again pay the energy cost for AM; however, since you didn't take damage during round 1, when the spell was cast, the energy cost is zero. Now, the secondary ability from round 1 (free energy cost) is now over.

Round 3) You must again pay the energy cost for AM; however, since you didn't take damage during round 2, when the spell was cast, the energy cost is zero. Now, the secondary ability from round 2 (free energy cost) is now over.

Round 4) You must again pay the energy cost for AM; however, since you didn't take damage during round 3, when the spell was cast, the energy cost is zero. Now, the secondary ability from round 3 (free energy cost) is now over.

Basically, each time that you cast Arcane Missles, you get to reduce the cost to cast Arcane Missles on only the next turn. Howver, you are still casting Arcane Missles each turn, so you can chain the results together.

Mike Z
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tengeo Johusa
msg tools
Mike Zebrowski wrote:
Yes and No.

Here is an example (assuming that you never take damage):

Round 1) You pay the full energy cost for AM.

Round 2) You must again pay the energy cost for AM; however, since you didn't take damage during round 1, when the spell was cast, the energy cost is zero. Now, the secondary ability from round 1 (free energy cost) is now over.

Round 3) You must again pay the energy cost for AM; however, since you didn't take damage during round 2, when the spell was cast, the energy cost is zero. Now, the secondary ability from round 2 (free energy cost) is now over.

Round 4) You must again pay the energy cost for AM; however, since you didn't take damage during round 3, when the spell was cast, the energy cost is zero. Now, the secondary ability from round 3 (free energy cost) is now over.

Basically, each time that you cast Arcane Missles, you get to reduce the cost to cast Arcane Missles on only the next turn. Howver, you are still casting Arcane Missles each turn, so you can chain the results together.

Mike Z



Thanks Mike! you have been a great help in explaining.

I beileved this ability was pretty powerful during our lv 2 pvp session, as mages were meant to burst not last.

I never seems to outbeat his dps when all character has drain their pool.

Mage really outshine in this boardgame!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.