Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Cheops» Forums » General

Subject: Drawing tiles : translation error rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steve+Jackie McKeogh
United Kingdom
Okehampton
Devon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If anyone is using the rules posted here - cheops.htm from 27/5/01 you may be unaware that there is an error in them. The German rules emphasise that when drawing new tiles at the end of your turn, they can only be taken from the front pile, so taking away any choice. The 3 piles are presumably just to stop one very tall pile falling over!

'At the end of your turn, you can take tiles from the front pile to bring your family members back up to four. However, you do not have to. If you do not want to take because of the neighbourhood rule or you simply forget, you will just have less family members at your disposal at the start of your next turn.'
(The bold lettering is there in the German.)

This makes it more likely that there will be times when you choose not to draw a new tile. Because of the wording we have always played that if you draw you have to draw back up to four. If, for example, you ended a turn with only two tiles and you decided to draw you would have to take the next two tiles in the pile and could not choose to just draw one.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.