Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Tower of Babel» Forums » Rules

Subject: Accepting Offers and off color offered cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paul Easter
United States
Columbia Heights
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This scenario has just come up during our first playing. Yes, at 4:30 in the morning. No, I don't know why we're up this late either.

The building disc is a 'White 4' disc. The offers are 1 grey card and 2 white cards. The active player has accepted both offers, and has the other 2 white cards he needs to complete the building disc in his hand. What happens to the off-color card? Is it taken into the active player's hand, discarded, or returned to the hand of the player who offered it?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Johnson
United States
Salem
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The way we play it... if anyone gives "illegal" offers, any part of the offering that is illegal immediately goes back to that players' hand. Works fine like that.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Johnson
United States
Salem
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
By the way, you CANNOT accept any cards that will not help you build, so you simply could not accept a gray card if that is all someone offered. The card immediately goes back to the offering players' hand.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Easter
United States
Columbia Heights
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
That's how we've been playing as well. Thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mark coomey
New Zealand
AUCKLAND
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
same.. you can't accept illegal offers..they immediately are returned to the players hand
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Smiles
United States
Dedham
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
admin
The ratio of people to cake is too big.
badge
Excuse me, I believe you have my stapler...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We've always played that if the offer contains any illegal cards, the entire offer is void and returned to the players hand. Playing an illegal offer is equivalent to playing no cards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Sauberer
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From page 2 of the rules, in section "2. Make offer."

Quote:
Next, the players reveal their offers at the same time. If any player has building cards in his offer that do not match the needed kind, he returns these immediately to his hand.


So, a player can put "dummy" cards in his offer (presumably to disguise his actual offer) but those cards cannot be chosen as part of accepting an offer.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Haberman
United States
Painesville
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yep, the rules are pretty clear. Playing off color cards is just a way of disguising how many legal cards you are offering. You take them back into your hand as soon as you flip the offer over.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Dearlove
United Kingdom
Chelmsford
Essex
flag msg tools
SoRCon 11 23-25 Feb 2018 Basildon UK http://www.sorcon.co.uk
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
habermanm wrote:
Playing off color cards is just a way of disguising how many legal cards you are offering.


Yes. Except for the "just". There is another reason to play off colour cards ... but you wouldn't want me to spoil your fun spelling it out would you?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew M
United States
New Haven
Connecticut
flag msg tools
admin
8/8 FREE, PROTECTED
badge
513ers Assemble!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'll spell it out for you

You can show the next player what colors you can contribute to for his build.

What I won't spell out is when you'd want to do that.

-MMM
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kane Klenko
United States
Ridgeway
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Octavian wrote:
I'll spell it out for you

You can show the next player what colors you can contribute to for his build.

What I won't spell out is when you'd want to do that.

-MMM


Wow, I hadn't thought of that for some reason. I think you just made this game even better. Thanks! Sorta Res Publica-ish in that way.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Stewart
United States
Visalia
California
flag msg tools
badge
It's sooo Hot out here...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Octavian wrote:
I'll spell it out for you

You can show the next player what colors you can contribute to for his build.

What I won't spell out is when you'd want to do that.

-MMM


Revealing the "off" color just shows what you are building towards or can help the build later on...That's the only reason.

Of course, you'll always have the chance of declining the offer.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.