Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Dungeon Twister: Paladins & Dragons» Forums » Rules

Subject: Paladin rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bruce Tanchel
United Kingdom
Solihull
West Midlands
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the English edition rule book the following statement is found under the description of the Paladin.

"The Paladin does not lose his special ability when wounded."

Does it mean he does not drop items when wounded ?

Does anyone know what this statement means ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Franklin
United States
Milton
Washington
flag msg tools
He sees you when you're sleeping; he knows when you're awake ...
badge
He knows if you've been bad or good.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
btanchel wrote:
In the English edition rule book the following statement is found under the description of the Paladin.

"The Paladin does not lose his special ability when wounded."

Does it mean he does not drop items when wounded ?

Does anyone know what this statement means ?


Most characters, when wounded, lose their special abilities. If the Paladin lost his special ability while wounded, then he could not legally stay in the same space as two objects, as it would violate the second Golden Rule. He still can't use objects which require AP to use, but he can legally stay in a space with two objects.

Eric
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Kudzma
United States
Millsboro
Delaware
flag msg tools
designer
People are...
badge
SPOCKED!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Does it mean he does not drop items when wounded ?

Yes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruce Tanchel
United Kingdom
Solihull
West Midlands
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Does that mean if he was wearing armour he would still have a defensive bonus even when wounded?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Franklin
United States
Milton
Washington
flag msg tools
He sees you when you're sleeping; he knows when you're awake ...
badge
He knows if you've been bad or good.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
btanchel wrote:
Does that mean if he was wearing armour he would still have a defensive bonus even when wounded?


Yes - but so would any wounded character.

Wounded characters cannot use items which require AP. A wounded character with a rope can stay on a trap. A wounded character with armor gets +1 to their combat value when attacked.

Here's the full list of items from the base set and P&D and how they interact with wounded characters:

Fireball Wand: Requires AP to use, so unusable.
Potion of Speed: Requires AP to use, so unusable
Rope: Usable to prevent death if character becomes wounded while standing in a trap.
Sword: Only used when attacking. Wounded characters cannot attack.
Armor: +1 Combat Value when defending. Usable, as it does not require an AP to use
Treasure: Theoretically usable, but wounded characters can't move.
Teleportation Ring: Requires AP to use, so unusable.
Fire Shield: Usable.
Key: Requires AP to use, so unusable
Charm Scroll: Requires AP to use, so unusable
DragonSlayer: Usable - but it's only useful to a wounded character if a dragon attacks directly.

... and things get more fun with the Paladin.

You DO realize he can wear two suits of armor, right? When the Paladin is wearing two suits of armor and is wounded, he still gets +2 to his Combat Value when attacked. Of course, when wounded his Combat Value is base 0, just like everyone else.

Eric

Edits: Remembered Paladin gets 2 objects which can combine, so I added (and then clarified) a paragraph specific to the Wounded Paladin.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Olivier Lamontagne
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Gamethyme wrote:
DragonSlayer: Usable - but it's only useful to a wounded character if a dragon attacks directly.


The Dragonslayer bonus doesn't apply for defense, only for attack (it is a sword), so a wounded character can't use it.

Source (in french)
http://www.dungeontwister.com/fr/faq/index.php?HK=6c75372abb...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Franklin
United States
Milton
Washington
flag msg tools
He sees you when you're sleeping; he knows when you're awake ...
badge
He knows if you've been bad or good.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Capitaine Grappin wrote:
Gamethyme wrote:
DragonSlayer: Usable - but it's only useful to a wounded character if a dragon attacks directly.


The Dragonslayer bonus doesn't apply for defense, only for attack (it is a sword), so a wounded character can't use it.

Source (in french)
http://www.dungeontwister.com/fr/faq/index.php?HK=6c75372abb...


Ahh! I apologize for the error - the English version I originally received reads "+4 in Combat value against Dragons." It doesn't specify that it's on the attack only.

This should, perhaps be amended to "+4 in Combat Value when attacking a Dragon."

Thanks for calling the French FAQ to my attention on this one.

Eric
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.