Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

War of the Ring (First Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Guide rules in the FAQ are an inconsistant patchwork rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dave J McWeasely
United States
Louisville
Kentucky
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmb
The nitty-gritty rules of guides and corruption is a muddle!
FAQ wrote:
Q In which order do you resolve the Corruption and the Reveal if the Hunt tile drawn shows a positive number and a Reveal icon and the Free Peoples player choose to pick a random Companion to eliminate?

A First resolve the Corruption damage (in this case by randomly picking a Companion to eliminate), and then Reveal the Fellowship's new position.

Okay, so corrupt first, then reveal. Check.

FAQ wrote:
Q Can Gollum use any of his Guide abilities immediately if the last Companion separates or is eliminated by a Hunt tile?

A No, Gollum's abilities as Guide do not apply to a Hunt tile drawn when other Companions still where left in the Fellowship.
Gollum, sneaky as he is, will not reveal himself as long as there are other Companions left and therefore cannot use his Guide ability against the same Hunt tile as a Companion did.

Errr...make that Reveal First, then corrupt!

Correllary: The guide can not use his ability unless he starts the hunt guiding the fellowship.

FAQ wrote:
Q If a Companion, other than a hobbit, is the Guide and you take him as a casualty and Merry or Pippin becomes the new guide can you use the hobbit's special ability as Guide immediately?

A Yes.

Errr...oops, looks like in this case the guide may use his "when guiding the fellowship" ability even if he doesn't start the hunt phase guiding the fellowship!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristofer Bengtsson
Sweden
Kävlinge
flag msg tools
designer
War of the Ring: Official FAQ Master! Webmaster of www.warofthering.eu Author of the War of the Ring Companion
badge
- This is My Hour!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The reason behind this is how Gollum's ability is supposed to use.

His rules break all other Companion/Hunt rules and should have been treated in a different way. This however does not show clear enough in the rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.