Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Formosan Resolution card rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mike Owens
United States
Chattanooga
Tennessee
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Formosan Resolution card, which is an asterisked event card, also says "This card is discarded after US play of the China card". [Emphasis added]

Should the sentence on the Formosan Resolution card correctly read: "This card's effects are cancelled by US play of the China Card"?

Otherwise:

--If the FR card is already removed from play after being played as an event, how can it be discarded?

--If the USSR player holds the FR card and the US plays the China card, must the USSR player immediately discard the FR card?

--If the US player holds the FR card and plays the China card, must the US player immediately discard the FR card?

--If neither player holds the FR card and it hasn't been removed (i.e., is in the draw pile or the discard pile) how can the FR card be discarded?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The card means the ongoing effect is cancelled when the USA plays the China card. It does not mean you should discard it if it hasn't been played. It is removed from the game when played, (normal rules apply).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Irving
United States
Salinas
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Once the Formosan Resolution card is played as an event, it stays in play until the US player plays the China Card, when it should be removed permanently from play.

Your wording is better than the card's.

The wording is similar to Shuttle Siplomacy which remains in effect until some other event happens (in this case either the Asia or the Middle Scoring Card is played (SD does not count at the end of the game))--but there is a big difference between the two cards: Shuttle Diplomacy is not asterisked and placed on the discard pile.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Actually, I use the little cardboard token marked 'Formosan' resolution, and the card goes straight in the 'Remove from game' pile.

With Shuttle Diplomacy, using the token would have a small effect on the game, as it would mean the card got back into circulation. Since this could lead to Shuttle Diplomacy being played again before its effects ran out, probably best not to use the token!

Does Formosan Resolution count at the end of the game? I assume so...

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Wilson
United States
Carsoin
California
flag msg tools
If the Resolution is STILL in play at endgame, it will count for final scoring.

I prefer to keep the card out, over that little counter... but it doesn't really matter.. The reason the card is not discarded is to keep it as a reminder. So either discard the card and place the counter on Taiwan as a reminder, or keep the card out (placed in Asia) as a reminder.. either way, when the event ends, make sure that the card is removed when it has completely resolved.


David "the preacher" Wilson
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.