Stacie Winters
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Setsuki's Double-Take in and of itself is simple enough but in our game the question came up that while Combos Are Hard is a non-! Puzzle Chip and does meet that requirement of Double-Take... Combos Are Hard does specifically state that
- If this is the only action you play this turn then gain any two different non-! chis from the bank, end your action phase, then trash this chip.

So Double-Take's action allows to play a non-! Puzzle Chip from hand or discard pile - Play it twice, trash it, and then end your action phase.

Can Double-Take be used to play Combos Are Hard is the question?

Other than this, this game is a total blast and I am enjoying it greatly.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
colin langton
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
You can use double-take to play Combos are Hard twice and trash it, but it doesn’t do anything, because it’s not the only action you took that turn
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rabid Schnauzer
msg tools
Yeah, if you play Double Take that's an action. Then as part of that action you play Combos are Hard - but you've already played Double Take, so Combos are Hard is not the only chip you've played this turn and does nothing.

I think the intent would be a bit clearer if the wording said "If this is the first chip you play this turn ________"
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt
United States
Alabama
flag msg tools
badge
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0tdyU_gW6WE
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rabid_schnauzer wrote:
Yeah, if you play Double Take that's an action. Then as part of that action you play Combos are Hard - but you've already played Double Take, so Combos are Hard is not the only chip you've played this turn and does nothing.

I think the intent would be a bit clearer if the wording said "If this is the first chip you play this turn ________"


Except that would open up other interpretations. If a player starts the turn with extra actions (such as from Zane's Maximum Anarchy... not sure if anything else allows that), then "If this is the first chip" would still allow you to do something after playing CAH, whereas "If this is the only chip" specifies that you get no other actions in any case.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Apollo Andy
United States
Fort Worth
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Quince's Patriot Mirror allows him to start the turn with 2 actions.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rabid Schnauzer
msg tools
vyran wrote:
Except that would open up other interpretations.


What part of "and then end your action phase" are you guys failing to understand here?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Beau Bocephus Blasterfire
United States
Berrien Springs
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No. Combos are Hard states that if it is the only action. Being that it won't be the only action, Setsuki's Double-Take won't work on it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt
United States
Alabama
flag msg tools
badge
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0tdyU_gW6WE
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rabid_schnauzer wrote:
vyran wrote:
Except that would open up other interpretations.


What part of "and then end your action phase" are you guys failing to understand here?


I understand it just as much as the part of the chip that says "If this is the only action you play this turn..." The entire chip is very clear about how it works and doesn't need to be reworded at all, so we really don't need to go into alternate wordings on any part of it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Apollo Andy
United States
Fort Worth
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I thought you were suggesting replacing the entire "If this is the only....then end" with "If this is the first."
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.