Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark» Forums » Rules

Subject: Two plausible interpretations of Piercing, which is correct? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Darryl Yust
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
"...ignoring 1 point of Armor for each rank of Pierce it has."

Suppose a target with X armor is hit by an attacker with Piercing Y, dealing Z damage, where Z >= Y.

What does it mean to 'ignore Armor'?

A) "Subtract Piercing from target's effective armor, resolve attack normally. In other words, target's effective armor for this attack is (X-Y), therefore he takes (Z-(X-Y)) damage". In this case, an attack with Pierce 1 won't necessarily do damage every time it hits, only if it hits with enough damage to overcome the (reduced) effective armor of the target.

B) "Do all Piercing damage ignoring armor, then see what's leftover. Y damage is dealt to the target, and then the attack is resolved as though (Z-Y) damage were dealt, resulting in ((Z-Y)-X) additional damage. If Z is < Y, then only Z gets thru total." In this case, every successful hit from a Pierce 1 attack will do at least 1 damage (assuming at least one heart is rolled...)

C) Neither A nor B is correct....

-D



 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike zebrowski
United States
Unspecified
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
A
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joran Jessurun
Netherlands
Eindhoven
Noord Brabant
flag msg tools
Roll The Dice bordspelvereniging Veldhoven - http://www.rollthedice.nl
badge
I like playing Descent: Journeys in the Dark
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Two plausible interpretations of Piercing, which is corr
W=max(D-max(A-P,0),0)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Orr
United States
Medical Lake
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmb
Re: Two plausible interpretations of Piercing, which is corr
W=D+min(P,A)-A.

Go, MATH!

Of course, it's understood that W must be non-negative.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.