Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Age of Steam Expansion #3: Scandinavia and Korea» Forums » General

Subject: Ferry questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jon Pessano
United States
Tampa
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
All,

Can you use the ferry action on both of your moves? Or can you only use it once?

Also, can you use the ferry action to move cubes from one city to another even if you have track to either of those cities (to steal a cube from someone)?

Thx
jonpfl
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Eisen
United States
Menlo Park
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
It is only usable during one of your two goods movements on that turn.

It is also usable only in the context of the usual Age of Steam moves: delivering a cube to a city of its color to increase the income of the players whose tracks are used.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Eisen
United States
Menlo Park
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Oh sorry. Was the second question as to whether you can use the ferry to deliver a cube from port to port where the destination port is the same color of the cube to be essentially a "zero hop" as far as income increase?

Good question. I would tend to say yes, but have no special insight into the rules here.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Webb
United States
Western Mitten
flag msg tools
designer
badge
GET A SILK BAG FROM THE GRAVEYARD DUCK TO LIVE LONGER.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hypothetically, yes, you could deliver a good for zero with the ferry if you wanted to, though I could not imagine a game state where doing so would be a good idea.

And not incidentally, yes, you can steal goods from cities where you don't have any track. That is one of the primary uses for the ferry (the other, of course, guaranteeing a maximum length move) and why it is so very nasty...it allows players to steal goods out of other's networks, and then turn them into positive income as well. That is why the ferry is strictly better than deurbanization from Ireland, which only penalized your opponent (and protected you from having one of your goods deurbanizaed). The ferry does essentially the same thing, but creates growth for you as well.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Pessano
United States
Tampa
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So, you can only use the ferry action once during your turn, right?

In regards to the other question, can you use the ferry to move a good from one city to another city and thats it? (ie move it to another coastal city and leave it there for another turn?)

Thx
jonpfl
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Webb
United States
Western Mitten
flag msg tools
designer
badge
GET A SILK BAG FROM THE GRAVEYARD DUCK TO LIVE LONGER.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jonpfl wrote:
So, you can only use the ferry action once during your turn, right?


Correct, the ferry may be used for one of your two goods movements.

Quote:

In regards to the other question, can you use the ferry to move a good from one city to another city and thats it? (ie move it to another coastal city and leave it there for another turn?)


You can not ever move a good and have it remain on the board in Age of Steam. If one moves a good it must reach a legal destination, appropriate points must be given to the people whose track was used, and the good must then be placed back in the bag.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.