Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Intentionally taking dmg to keep moving rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
grease meat
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Is this statement true??:

Heroes can only intentionally use Fatigue *up to* their Stamina. They can't willingly take damage to exceed the limit (to use skills/movement when at the limit). They take damage if a trap/Overlord card forces them to take fatigue in excess of their Stamina. Re-read page 13 (have had players wanting to eat damage to use a skill to save their skins/win, so it's come up and been shot down).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evan Coolen
Belgium
Brussels
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From what Ive gathered you cannot spend fatigue over the limit.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Knobbly Savage
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rules p. 13 wrote:
Fatigue and Stamina
Heroes voluntarily suffer fatigue (�) in order to use skills or move
additional spaces. To suffer fatigue, the player takes the number of fatigue
tokens equal to the cost and places them on his Hero sheet. When using
skills or moving, a hero may only suffer fatigue up to an amount equal
to his Stamina.
If any other game effect forces a hero to suffer fatigue in
excess of his Stamina, he instead suffers damage equal to the excess fatigue
that would have been suffered.
(my emphasis)

You know, the reference you gave in your own post. So, short answer: yes, the statement is true.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Argonar Alfaran
Austria
flag msg tools
Yes it's true, you could explain it with this scenario:

Someboday is running until he is completely exhausted. He is not able to run anymore, regardless of how hard he tries.

Now what would happen if that person was forced to keep running by chaining him to a treadmill. Most likely he would somehow manage to still exhaust himself even further, but it can't be healthy.

Heroes only suffer health instead of fatique if they don't have any endurance left, because otherwise they could avoid overlord effects that cause fatique, by simply exhausting themselves whenever it's possible.

It isn't and shouldn't be possible to take damage in order to use skills.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Porter
United States
Woodinville
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
There is one case that is slightly confusing. If the heroes are next to a master cave spider that causes them to spend fatigue to move, they can suffer health if they have no fatigue to spend.

This makes sense because the monster is forcing the fatigue cost, but is confusing because the hero must choose to move. It has been confirmed by FFG.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robin Reeve
Switzerland
St-Légier
Vaud
flag msg tools
badge
Looking for a game session in Switzerland? Send me a pm!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Actually, there is a nuance between "spending" and "suffering" fatigue.
A hero may "suffer" fatigue beyond his stamina - taking health hits.
So, in the case of the master spider, the hero "suffers" fatigue rather than "spends" it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
lolololage
msg tools
Mercury_Man wrote:
There is one case that is slightly confusing. If the heroes are next to a master cave spider that causes them to spend fatigue to move, they can suffer health if they have no fatigue to spend.

This makes sense because the monster is forcing the fatigue cost, but is confusing because the hero must choose to move. It has been confirmed by FFG.


The only time it is confusing is if the hero is at 3/4 or 4/5 fatigue. But even then, they only willingly use one, and are forced to use the 2nd, so makes sense really.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.