Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Afrika Korps» Forums » Rules

Subject: tobruk under siege rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kyle O'Grady
United States
Tonawanda
New York
flag msg tools
mb
A dispute came up during a session regarding stacking limits in Tobruk while under siege. Clearly the rules state that units cannot be brought into Tobruk over the stacking limit while under siege because those units would be stuck in Tobruk, thus violating the stacking limit at the end of the movement phase.

The problem is this: When is Tobruk actually considered under siege? It was my understanding that every hex adjacent to Tobruk must be occupied by an enemy unit in order to count as a siege. My opponent claimed that a single enemy unit adjacent to Tobruk is a siege, and that prevents units from being brought into Tobruk over the stacking limit.

My reasoning was that if a single unit is adjacent to Tobruk it would be possible to bring units into Tobruk over the stacking limit, and to then move those units out of Tobruk and into the zones of control of the adjacent enemy unit. Those units would have to stop movement and fight during the combat phase, and the stacking limit in Tobruk would not be in violation at the end of the movement phase. No zone of control extends into Tobruk, so moving out of Tobruk into an enemy zone of control would not count as moving through an enemy zone of control.

If anyone can settle this dispute that would be appreciated.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin Case
United States
Greensboro
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the situation that you describe, with open hexes adjacent to Tobruk, it is indeed possible to bring additional units into Tobruk and move them out to attack enemy units.

Stacking limits must be enforced by the time all movement is complete and before any combat occurs.

See Rules 19.4 and 19.5 specifically; sea movement is treated in the same way.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Selkirk
Canada
Truro
Nova Scotia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You don't have to overstack in Tobruch. Move the units in you want, observing stacking limits. On your turn, move x number of units out, which may remain at sea for a turn and move x number of units in, that were at sea already. Simply transfer units from turn to turn.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James D. Williams
United States
Lexington
Kentucky
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
"units cannot be brought into Tobruk over the stacking limit while under siege"...
The idea is understandable, but the exact language in the rules, esp: "under siege" has to be found in the rules...and then...
If found, "under siege" should be defined in the rules.
Otherwise it is just an idea... one could have Tobruch completely surrounded on land, nowhere adjacent to the fortress, yet Tobruch might be considered "under siege".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve
Thailand
flag msg tools
Our reading of the rule was --

that it is simply a restatement of the stacking rule.

In the OP's situation, he could certainly move 1 of the 3 units in Tobruch to an adjacent hex and land a unit & move it 1 hex, and land another unit and move 1 hex. If there was still room in an adjacent hex he could land 3 more units. And finally land 1 unit to fill up the Tobruch hex again.

Like James=George said, "under siege" is not defined in the rules. There are 3 possible cases.
. . a] All 3 hexes are occupied by enemy units.
Here clearly no more than 3 combat units cam be in Tobruch at the end of movement.

. . b] One or 2 of the hexes are occupied and Tobruch is "isolated" on land.
This was the case in the OP. Since "under siege" is not defined, the general rule that says, "If it doesn't say you can't, then, you *can* do it," applies. This also makes it a better game and simulation by making it easier for the Br. to threaten to attack out of Tobruch, if the Ger. units are at El Alamein.

. . c] None of the hexes is occupied, but Tobruch is "isolated" on land.
Clearly, more units could be landed and moved out to attack.

1 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls