Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Sentinels of the Multiverse: Rook City» Forums » Rules

Subject: Spite PL602 Compound Omicron Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andrew L.
United States
Lawrence
Kansas
flag msg tools
Sword, Board and Pen
badge
Hey! I run a board game blog at swordboardandpen.com! Come check it out!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The text on this card states

Quote:
The first time Spite would be dealt damage each turn, reduce that damage by (H) minus 2.


I want to make sure we were playing it correctly: Does this mean each time a Hero does damage each turn, the first time it is reduced by (H) minus 2, or does that only apply to the first time he is dealt damage per all hero turns?

Ex. 5 player game:

The card above is out.

Haka (the first hero) wants to deal 5 damage on his turn due to a one-shot. This is reduced by 3 due to the Compound Omicron. Then, he wants to use a power, which will deal the full damage.

The Scholar (the second hero) wants to deal damage with a one shot. Is this damage reduced because it's the first time he is dealt damage during The Scholar's turn?

Thanks for helping me figure this out!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Everything between now and the next game is just killing time
England
London
Agitation
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You have it right, it is the first time each turn, not each round.
In your example The Scholar will have his damage reduced because it is the first time this turn Spite would be dealt damage.
Damage would also be reduced during the Villain turn and the Environment turn if damage were to be dealt to Spite during that turn some how.

It also doesn't matter if it is whose turn it is when you do the damage, if Fanatic used the start of turn effect of Divine Focus on another hero's turn, that damage would be reduced, leaving the hero whose turn it actual was to attack with impunity that turn.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Harold Tessmann III
United States
Ypsilanti
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
historygamer89 wrote:
The text on this card states

Quote:
The first time Spite would be dealt damage each turn, reduce that damage by (H) minus 2.

Each turn, meaning: each turn. First you have the villain turn, then you have one turn for each hero, (H) in all, then you have the environment turn.

historygamer89 wrote:
I want to make sure we were playing it correctly: Does this mean each time a Hero does damage each turn,

There you go! Errr, well, you've got the "each turn" bit right, but phrased the rest of it wrong. It doesn't matter if a Hero does damage to Spite or if an Environment card does it, or if you somehow get Spite to damage himself. It also doesn't matter how many sources damage Spite—the first time each turn, reduce the damage. They have not published errata for the card (see Spiff's site, because Greater Than doesn't collect their FAQs in any useful way). Just read the words on the card and do what it says.

(They have officially changed similar effects on The Chairman's flipped side, Wraith's Combat Stance, and the like. These say "The first time <this character> is dealt damage by a target each turn…", which you should change to "dealt damage by each target"; it triggers for each unique source. In this case, if three Villain targets all hit The Wraith, this card triggers for each one.)

historygamer89 wrote:
Haka (the first hero) wants to deal 5 damage on his turn due to a one-shot. This is reduced by 3 due to the Compound Omicron. Then, he wants to use a power, which will deal the full damage.

Correct.

historygamer89 wrote:
The Scholar (the second hero) wants to deal damage with a one shot. Is this damage reduced because it's the first time he is dealt damage during The Scholar's turn?

Yes, this damage is reduced.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.