Popular Tags: convention [+] dexcon [+] [View All]
Rachel Poulos
United States
Worcester
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Just wondering if anybody is going to Dexcon (http://www.dexposure.com/dexcon16.html) and if so if they are signing up for anything. This is my second time going, and I highly recommend e-mailing to reserve spots in things you are interested.

For those who have not attended Dexcon before, here are some of my thoughts. I'm not too experienced in conventions, but I think Dexcon is different from most others in the sense that there is almost no open gaming but instead structured/moderated games set to last a specific amount of time. This is good in my opinion because this means there is always someone there to teach you the game and there isn't much downtime waiting for players, because everybody who signs up shows up at the designated time.

Something that is good and bad is that the game ends at the end time whether you have finished or not. The good of this is that it keep you moving onto the next game so you can learn some more (particularly for people like me who use conventions as a way to learn games that are already in my collection), and you can do so without feeling bad for leaving a game in the middle. It can be bad to end early too because that creates downtime, but I have found that those cases are rare and also since everyone you just played with is in the same boat, chances are you can all play a filler until the next session begins.

As I mentioned, there is a gm for every game, so you really can sign up for a game you have never played before (or barely heard of). The thing I hate most about board gaming is reading rulebooks - so Dexcon solved many of my problems!