Popular Tags: [View All]
Martyn Smith
England
Bourne
Lincolnshire
flag msg tools
badge
"We don't see things as they are, but as we are." The Talmud
Microbadge: 1066, Tears to Many Mothers fanMicrobadge: Ludwig WittgensteinMicrobadge: Christian UniversalistMicrobadge: Simone Weil fanMicrobadge: 1565, St. Elmo's Pay fan
In very difficult financial times (it's a LONG story... snore )I have been given the ok from my wife to purchase One Game...

Before this chance, it felt as if there were LOADS of games I wanted and yet, now that the opportunity has arisen, I feel stultified by choice and could use some insight.

I'll give a little bit of background info and would then really appreciate it if anyone felt inspired to advise me as to the best way forward.

Right.

I am still very new to wargaming and still occasionally dip back into my euro games.

Today, for instance, my son and I finished our first ever game of the newly-arrived Dominant Species. We absolutely LOVED it - I can hardly think of one single thing to fault about it from the clear and ultra-accessible rules to the uber-engaging graphics to the fascinating game mechanics. It was also very stimulating from a thematic point of view and we will be getting it on the table again ASAP.

I sold Twilight Struggle to get the money for DS and I am thinking that it's the best gaming choice I've EVER made

I started on Memoir 44 last year after an introduction to it from a local wargamer and I still enjoy it. Quick and easy to set up, not weighed down with complicated rules and you get to push little tanks around - what's NOT to like???

We then moved onto Commands and Colors:Ancients which we've played many, many times and has become rather a go-to game for us when all else fails. It's a pretty straightforward affair and engrosses us from start to finish. We also play each battle twice, swapping sides and loving every moment of the combat.