Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lee Hancox
Australia
Melbourne
Vic
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
if during a battle the anglo/dutch or the Prussians, fall below the number that designates collapse of the army does the battle end completely then and there? Where all the collapsed army are removed and the french return to the game? or do you carry on the battle until you cause a rout taking damage as you go?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Gray
United States
Glenwood Springs
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe the rules state that when a side is reduced to "x" units, they surrender. I take this to mean immediately.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Pressler
United States
West Lafayette
Indiana
flag msg tools
designer
OMG! Overtext! How long have I been sleeping?! OVERTEXT! Also, I'm a DESIGNER now?! Sweet! OVERTEXXXXXXT!
badge
HO HO HO! Give me some money!
mbmbmbmbmb
From the Columbia Games rulebook...

Quote:
12.0 Victory ... Defeats are effective only after all battles in the current Campaign Turn are resolved. All remaining units of a defeated army are eliminated.

I didn't post the previous section that lists how many units constitute a defeat for each army, as that should differ in the AH version. Still, I presume the rule above holds true for both.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lee Hancox
Australia
Melbourne
Vic
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It does make a big impact on the game.
We had a HUGE battle for Brussels, and once I had dropped below 7 we could have ended the battle, but we played on as the rules stated 'below x at the end of a game turn'. Since there can be a number of battle turns within a game turn we read that as once committed to battle you fought it out and then re-assessed the numbers at the end of the turn.