Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

StarCraft: The Board Game – Brood War Expansion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Mind Control rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mike
Netherlands
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When is the Mind Control card triggered? Directly upon reveal or after the fight?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Bauer
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
after the fight, when other figures are destroyed, you take the opposing unit.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Folkert
United States
Tallahassee
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So don't destroy the front line unit, or it won't be around to be mind controlled.

Best case is when you destroy a supporting unit, and then mind control the front line unit. I did it once, when I attacked a Devourer and a Hydralisk with a Reaver and a Dark Archon. My Reaver had sufficient strength against the Devourer, but couldn't attack air, so it hit the Hydralisk instead. I then mind controlled the Devourer, which of course couldn't hit either the Reaver or the Dark Archon. It was beautiful (if rare).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Calixtus Ashley Wee
Singapore
Singapore
Singapore
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I thought in a skirmish, the front-line unit is the one to die?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Bauer
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Calixtus wrote:
I thought in a skirmish, the front-line unit is the one to die?
The combat rules in that regard are quite complex.

When you have sufficient strength to destroy the front-line-unit but are UNABLE to attack it (due to attack capabilities - e.g. the opposing unit is a flying unit and your FLU cannot attack air units), then you are allowed to kill one of the supporting units. The same goes for your opponent.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls