Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
15 Posts

Dungeon Twister: Paladins & Dragons» Forums » Rules

Subject: Falling Rocks & Wounded Characters rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andy Allardyce
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
(Non-flying) characters can't move past the Falling Rocks square unless they are carrying a Shield.

I'm sure I read in an early English translation of the rules that a wounded character (carried by a healthy character) can be used as a "Shield" to cross the square, although they are killed in the process.

I didn't see this in the official English rules and wonder whether it was left out by mistake - or has the rule been dropped?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Olivier Lamontagne
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Where have you seen that rule?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Allardyce
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From the original prototype rules in the "files" section
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Franklin
United States
Milton
Washington
flag msg tools
He sees you when you're sleeping; he knows when you're awake ...
badge
He knows if you've been bad or good.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hemlockaaa wrote:
From the original prototype rules in the "files" section


I can confirm that it is in there.

Something a lot of people don't realize - Christophe Boelinger actually did a great deal of his writing in English and then translated them into French later.

If this rules aspect didn't make it into the French version of the rules, then Chris (for whatever reason) changed his mind about it. It may have been something that tested out as being unbalanced. Chris DID describe these as being the "Original Prototype Rules."

Eric
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Olivier Lamontagne
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the information,

I'll ask it in the official FAQ to see if that rule changed or not.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Allardyce
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Too bad if it's been removed - I liked the callous self-serving / self-sacrifice logic behind it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Franklin
United States
Milton
Washington
flag msg tools
He sees you when you're sleeping; he knows when you're awake ...
badge
He knows if you've been bad or good.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Capitaine Grappin wrote:
Thanks for the information,

I'll ask it in the official FAQ to see if that rule changed or not.


Is it in the French version of the rules? I don't have my copy handy.

Eric
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Franklin
United States
Milton
Washington
flag msg tools
He sees you when you're sleeping; he knows when you're awake ...
badge
He knows if you've been bad or good.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hemlockaaa wrote:
Too bad if it's been removed - I liked the callous self-serving / self-sacrifice logic behind it.


Remember: You can only carry your own Wounded (except for the Ghoul), so if this were still in, it'd mean giving your opponent a VP just so you could save a couple of points of movement.

Eric
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Olivier Lamontagne
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Gamethyme wrote:
Is it in the French version of the rules? I don't have my copy handy.

No, it is not in the rules in french, just checked the online rules. I still asked the question on the FAQ to be sure.

Hemlockaaa wrote:
Too bad if it's been removed - I liked the callous self-serving / self-sacrifice logic behind it.


It could be even more interesting in Powers of Darkness, the Goul can carry any wounded character regardless of color. A powerful combo here to kill opponents! devil
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Franklin
United States
Milton
Washington
flag msg tools
He sees you when you're sleeping; he knows when you're awake ...
badge
He knows if you've been bad or good.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Capitaine Grappin wrote:
It could be even more interesting in Powers of Darkness, the Goul can carry any wounded character regardless of color. A powerful combo here to kill opponents! devil


Try combining the Ghoul with the Ogre ...

Eric
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Allardyce
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe the prototype rules also addressed the VP issue (ie. no VP would be issued to anyone if wounded characters were killed in this manner)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Franklin
United States
Milton
Washington
flag msg tools
He sees you when you're sleeping; he knows when you're awake ...
badge
He knows if you've been bad or good.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hemlockaaa wrote:
I believe the prototype rules also addressed the VP issue (ie. no VP would be issued to anyone if wounded characters were killed in this manner)


Looking at the prototype we have, I can (again) confirm your accuracy.

This would have made some interesting changes to the gameplay, but I can see why Chris chose to remove them before the final version of the expansion.

It might be worth playing with these rules in effect a couple of times to see how much they change play.

Eric
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Olivier Lamontagne
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I just received the answer from the FAQ, that rule is removed.

Source (in french)
http://www.dungeontwister.com/fr/faq/index.php?HK=e7813b519d...

EDIT : The rule file on this site are the prototype rules, a few modifications were made before P&D got published.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Allardyce
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the info.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Allardyce
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the info.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.