Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Shadow Cards for enemies that aren't attacking rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mike
United States
Cincinnati
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I used the action card Thicket of Spears so my engaged enemies won't attack me. The rulebook makes me think that I still have to deal these enemies shadow cards. However, the steps for resolving enemy attacks say this:

"Step 1: Choose Enemy: The first player chooses which attack to resolve first ...
Step 3: Resolve shadow effect"

Since there is no attack there is no shadow effect to resolve, so these cards will just go into discard at the end of the phase, correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nigel McNaughton
New Zealand
Wellington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes you deal, then discard the cards. It's part of the mechanic for churning through the encounter deck.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Rob
United States
Tampa
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What he said. Remember, if you run out of encounter cards you don't shuffle the discard deck till after the turn ends. It's kind of a "shadow holiday!"
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Douglas Tempel
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
More precisely, you don't reshuffle the encounter deck until the next Quest phase.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls