Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Shadow Card Kills the Character and Then...? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rob Rob
United States
Tampa
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules indicate if a shadow card kills the engaged character, that attack is "undefended." Does that mean the enemy shifts to engage a new character or does the attack result in no additional damage to characters but the "undefended" status remains and is used for any card text resolution?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Judd
United States
Wright City
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
I've always assumed it means the same as when you don't even bother to block the attack. You must deal damage to one of your heroes equal to the strength of the now unblocked enemy. After getting hosed by that a few times, I decided it was time to start using stuff to cancel shadow effects a bit more, like Burning Brand.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
secoAce -
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Enemies do not engage characters. They engage a player.
When an engaged enemy attacks, you can choose 1 character to defend.

If the defending character is killed before the enemy's attack is resolved, since the declare defenders step has already passed, you cannot declare another defender.

That means that enemy attacks you undefended and you resolve as normal for any undefended attack. That is, all the attack strength of the attacking enemy damages you in the form of raising your Threat Level.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brendon Russell
New Zealand
Auckland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
secoAce wrote:
Enemies do not engage characters. They engage a player.
When an engaged enemy attacks, you can choose 1 character to defend.

If the defending character is killed before the enemy's attack is resolved, since the declare defenders step has already passed, you cannot declare another defender.

That means that enemy attacks you undefended and you resolve as normal for any undefended attack.
Correct.

Quote:
That is, all the attack strength of the attacking enemy damages you in the form of raising your Threat Level.
No, it must be dealt as damage to one of your heroes.
11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Rob
United States
Tampa
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
scwont wrote:
secoAce wrote:
Enemies do not engage characters. They engage a player.
When an engaged enemy attacks, you can choose 1 character to defend.

If the defending character is killed before the enemy's attack is resolved, since the declare defenders step has already passed, you cannot declare another defender.

That means that enemy attacks you undefended and you resolve as normal for any undefended attack.
Correct.
So who (if anyone) receives the damage?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Addison Fox
United States
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
A hero you control of your choice (who doesn't even get to apply his Defense!). Undefended attacks are a Bad Thing (tm).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
secoAce -
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
scwont wrote:
secoAce wrote:
That is, all the attack strength of the attacking enemy damages you in the form of raising your Threat Level.
No, it must be dealt as damage to one of your heroes.
Duh, don't know what I was thinking. Course, you're right.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls