Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Stephenson's Rocket» Forums » Rules

Subject: Shares, substitute shares, and expanding a railroad. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
UA Darth
United States
Boca Raton
FL
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When merging a railway, you trade in two for one. This is of real shares, correct? By the end of the game, tonight we had picked up all of the shares of a railroad before the game ended. Can you continue picking up shares by simply grabbing the extra blank substitute shares until the game ends?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mik Svellov
Denmark
Copenhagen N
EU
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The blank shares are made especially to be distributed during a merger and only in this case.

So no, you cannot get them at any other time.
The blank shares does not belong to any particular Company. They are simply there to ensure that all share holders receive the number of shares they have the right to at the time of a merge.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
UA Darth
United States
Boca Raton
FL
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Great Dane wrote:
The blank shares are made especially to be distributed during a merger and only in this case.

So no, you cannot get them at any other time.
The blank shares does not belong to any particular Company. They are simply there to ensure that all share holders receive the number of shares they have the right to at the time of a merge.


Ok, so they are only for mergers when regular shares have run out, correct?

How about this question then. If there are 2 railroads left, but one of them has run out of shares. Would that trigger the end of the game?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mik Svellov
Denmark
Copenhagen N
EU
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
shadow9d9 wrote:
Ok, so they are only for mergers when regular shares have run out, correct?
True.
Quote:
How about this question then. If there are 2 railroads left, but one of them has run out of shares. Would that trigger the end of the game?
"The game ends immediately when, at the end of any action, there are shares in only one Railway line available on the board."

That is taken from the rules and includes your situation.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.