Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Havoc: The Hundred Years War» Forums » Rules

Subject: A potential straight is not enough, right? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Koby Shachar
Israel
Rehovot
flag msg tools
It says: Love thy gamer
badge
I have nothing smart to say... yet
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm about to play today my first game of Havoc.
While reading the rules I came up with the following question:

In a three players game this is the situation on the table:
Player 1: 5-5-5-2-2
Player 2: 10-2
Player 3: 3-4-5-6

Both player 1 & 2 passed, and it is now the third player's turn.
He has a potential straight, but clearly he can't beat the full house.
However he must play another card (2 or 7) to complete a 5 card
straight if he wants to win the second place reward.

Am I right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil Alberg
United States
Cumberland
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
Whoopee Doopee, we have fun!
badge
You lost the game!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
koby_shachar wrote:
I'm about to play today my first game of Havoc.
While reading the rules I came up with the following question:

In a three players game this is the situation on the table:
Player 1: 5-5-5-2-2
Player 2: 10-2
Player 3: 3-4-5-6

Both player 1 & 2 passed, and it is now the third player's turn.
He has a potential straight, but clearly he can't beat the full house.
However he must play another card (2 or 7) to complete a 5 card
straight if he wants to win the second place reward.

Am I right?

You are correct. Player 3 currently shows a 6 high card, which is lower than Player 2's 10 high card. In order for Player 3 to finish second, s/he must play either a 2 or 7 to complete the straight, or play either a 3,4,5,6 to make a pair.

If all of Player 3's cards are of the same suit, then playing either the 2 or 7 of the same suit will give her/him a 5-card straight flush, which will beat Player 1's full house.

Enjoy!

meeple
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick West
United Kingdom
Edinburgh
Midlothian
flag msg tools
"Only two things are infinite; the universe and human stupidity....
badge
....and I'm not certain about the universe." Albert Einstein
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
...although actually playing just a ten or higher as a extra card would be enough to take 2nd place as the second highest cards (a 6 versus a 2) would then come into play.

Straight and flushes can be viewed as inefficient use of cards versus laying pairs as they are committing five cards to score anything. That said I did once win a nice double bluff by just laying those parts of an apparent straight-flush that I had and got my opponent to commit more cards than he had to to guarantee his win. I actually had nothing but by playing three same suited cards drew out my opponents full-house...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Smiles
United States
Dedham
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
admin
The ratio of people to cake is too big.
badge
Excuse me, I believe you have my stapler...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In one of our games, during Battle 6 (the one with no second place points), the player opened with blue 6, blue 7 and everyone else declined to participate in the battle. I don't think you can do better on a points per card basis.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.