Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Android: Netrunner» Forums » Rules

Subject: Data Sucker Parasite Tollbooth rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
S. R.
Germany
flag msg tools
If I run on a server with a Tollbooth with a hosted parasite, do I need to Pay the credits before I get to destroy it with Datasucker and Parasite?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pedraum
United States
Fresno
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, since you must encounter the ICE. Once you encounter the ICE, any encounter triggers fire. Then you can use datasucker (which says, "rezzed piece of ICE currently encountered") to lower the strength.

You must encounter the ICE in order to use datasucker's ability.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Linnell
United States
San Diego
CA
flag msg tools
I really need a new badge, avatar, and overtext. GM me with any ideas....
badge
This is the seahorse valley
Avatar
mb
Yes - First you encounter the ICE, then you get the chance to use paid abilities. Note that this is different if you run into a Tollbooth that will die from parasite + ICE carver without using datasuckers.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Wood
United States
Grapevine
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, you pay the credits when you encounter it, or end the run.

You can't use data suckers on it until you encounter it and are in the paid abilities phase.

http://netrunnercards.info/rules/#tsr

3. The Runner encounters a piece of ice. (“When encountered” conditionals meet their trigger conditions)

3.1 Icebreakers can interact with the encountered ice, Paid abilities can be triggered.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pedraum
United States
Fresno
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can someone also verify this related question:

If you encounter with 2 credits, the run ends before you can use any paid abilities, correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pedraum
United States
Fresno
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just checked to timing chart, will answer my own question.

Encounter triggers happen in 3.0, paid abilities in 3.1.

So yes, the run ends without being able to use datasucker's ability if you only have 2 credits.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.