Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Hammer of the Scots» Forums » Rules

Subject: 'Retreat into Scotland/England Query' rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Terence
Singapore
Singapore
flag msg tools
designer
RPG Geek Rocks!
badge
Mystic
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
According to Section 5.5 of the rules, "The English player may never retreat into Scotland."

How exactly does this rule operate?

For example, in the first turn of 1297 in the Braveheart scenario, if the Scots mount a full scale assault on Mentieth from Fife, can the English blocks in Mentieth retreat to Atholl?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rusty McFisticuffs
United States
Arcata
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think this is talking about retreats across the border between England and Scotland. (If you're in Mentieth, you're in Scotland, so retreating into Atholl wouldn't really be retreating "into" Scotland.) So, if the Scots park in England (which they want to do for border raids, 5.9), and the English attack them there, the English can't retreat back into Scotland during that battle. And if the Scots are defending in a battle in Dunbar, and the attackers came from Teviot, Selkirk, and Lothian, the Scots have no place to retreat, since they can't retreat into England.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
george seary
United States
endwell
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If the retreating English blocks are already located in Scotland, they can retreat to any available space (friendly or vacant, which the Scots did not use to enter the battle space) in Scotland, or to England.

5.5 pertains if the battle is taking place in England; Then the English have no retreat path. Look at rule 5.5 in conjunction with rule 4.4 (Anglo-Scottish Border).

According to rule 5.6, these same limitations apply to Regrouping as well (English can't regroup from England into Scotland, Scots can't regroup from Scotland into England).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Terence
Singapore
Singapore
flag msg tools
designer
RPG Geek Rocks!
badge
Mystic
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the clarifications. I understand now that this rule pertains only to retreats along the Anglo-Scottish border and nowhere else. Sheesh. Reading Section 5.5 one would never have guessed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.