Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Arkham Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: Going insane in combat rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Josh Kaufman
United States
West Hills
California
flag msg tools
Suppose I cast a spell that has a sanity cost to increase my combat ability, do I still get to make my attack before going insane?

Josh
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pete Goch
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You cast the spell (successfully or not) and then go insane if the cost reduces your sanity to 0. You never get the chance to make a combat check. Unless, of course, the spell takes the place of your combat check - it would say something like "cast this spell to automatically pass a combat check".
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Pilkus
United States
South Riding
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe the general consensus is that you will go insane as soon as you pay the Sanity cost.

A very early finding from either Richard L or Kevin W., was that the spell would work and you may even be able to claim the Monster Troph if you won the combat, but you're still going insane.

I play by the former, not the latter method. Having said that ~ I play in a way which you pay the Sanity cost ONLY if you actually roll a successful result on the Lore/Spell check.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Evans
United States
Berlin
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Here is the FAQ.

Quote:
Q: When an investigator casts a spell, can he spend all of
his Sanity to pay the spell’s Sanity cost?

A: Yes. If he does so, once the Sanity cost has been paid
the investigator makes his Spell check and, if he passes,
the spell takes effect. Whether the check is passed or not,
the investigator then goes insane. Note that if an investigator
were to cast a spell to gain combat bonuses, he would
go insane before having a chance to get into combat.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls