Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Star Wars: X-Wing Miniatures Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Dark Curse vs Blaster Turret rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
James Motz
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think I'm being dense, but I wanted to check. Can a Blaster Turret be used to attack Dark Curse?

Relevant wording:

"When defending, ships attacking you cannot spend focus tokens..."

"Attack (Focus): Spend 1 focus token to perform this attack..."

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't think he's immune. We've interpreted this to be that the ship spends a focus token to be able to make the attack, period. And then he decides to target Dark Curse. At that point he is no longer able to spend a focus token. But to even get to that point, he had to spend a focus token, so Dark Curse's ability can't come into effect yet (since it's not even a target yet).

Dark Curse basically prevents focus being used to change the dice values.

-shnar
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andreas Kr├╝ger
Germany
Krefeld
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
see also http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/991284/dark-curse-and-bl....
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Test Candidate (sans Deadly Neurotoxin)
badge
Warming up the deadly neurotoxin...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I got some informal feedback. Dark Curse is not immune to the Blaster Turret or Deadeye. I'm pretty sure this will end up in the FAQ.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Motz
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thamos von Nostria wrote:
Much obliged - I missed that post earlier. Sorry to double up - thanks for the feedback!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil Logan
Scotland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just reading the new FAQ out today...

Quote:

Q. Can "Dark Curse" be the target of a secondary weapon attack that requires the attacker to spend a focus token?

A. No.
This appears to conflict with the informal information received before... although the FAQ will take precedents (spelling?).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls