GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
8,553 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
19 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Conquest of Planet Earth: The Space Alien Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Crushing victory at the Atomic Power Plant rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Frank Otte
Germany
Münster
Nordrhein-Westfalen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Atomic Power Plant: "If demolished, all aliens and resistance here are also destroyed. Anytime there is a crushing victory here, this location is demolished on the D6 roll of a 1 or 2. [Tech],[Power],[Radiation]"

Unfortunately, the rules seem to use the term "crushing victory" for two different notions, namely:
(1) For rolling a "6" as fight die roll.
(2) Winning a fight with a "6" as fight die roll.

So, if there is a fight at the atomic power plant, both sides roll a "6" on their fight dice, and ONE side has the special ability to win ties, how many times is the die for blowing the power plant up rolled?

(1) Two times, because BOTH sides ROLLED a crushing victory.
(2) One time, because ONE side has won the fight WITH a crushing victory.
(3) None at all, because it was a tie, not a crushing victory (that one side has won that tie, because of a special ability, doesn't change the fact, that it was a tie, and NOT a crushing victory, like described in the rules on p. 12).

This question can be generalized, because there are several cards and events which are triggered by a crushing victory, which always raises the question, if a rolled crushing victory or a won fight with crushing victory is meant.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Collis Jeppesen
United States
New Windsor
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hermjard wrote:
Atomic Power Plant: "If demolished, all aliens and resistance here are also destroyed. Anytime there is a crushing victory here, this location is demolished on the D6 roll of a 1 or 2. [Tech],[Power],[Radiation]"

Unfortunately, the rules seem to use the term "crushing victory" for two different notions, namely:
(1) For rolling a "6" as fight die roll.
(2) Winning a fight with a "6" as fight die roll.

So, if there is a fight at the atomic power plant, both sides roll a "6" on their fight dice, and ONE side has the special ability to win ties, how many times is the die for blowing the power plant up rolled?

(1) Two times, because BOTH sides ROLLED a crushing victory.
(2) One time, because ONE side has won the fight WITH a crushing victory.
(3) None at all, because it was a tie, not a crushing victory (that one side has won that tie, because of a special ability, doesn't change the fact, that it was a tie, and NOT a crushing victory, like described in the rules on p. 12).

This question can be generalized, because there are several cards and events which are triggered by a crushing victory, which always raises the question, if a rolled crushing victory or a won fight with crushing victory is meant.



Ties that neither side wins are a wash and continue the battle with more die rolls and no rolling on status of atomic plant. Crushing victory is only a crushing victory if there is a victor. In your example, the one side that wins ties and rolled the six got the crushing victory and one die would be rolled for the atomic plant's status (losing side didn't qualify as a victory). How I would play it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken H.
United States
Amherst
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rules p.12 wrote:
Crushing Victory
If either side (the Aliens or the Resistance) rolls
a 6 on their Fight Dice, it is considered a Crushing
Victory. In this case, the Strength Totals are ignored
and the side with the Crushing Victory simply wins
the Fight Round. In this way, it is always possible to
win (or lose) a Fight, even if there are overwhelming
odds.
If both sides have a Crushing Victory, it is
considered a Tie, regardless of Strength Totals.


and

The Glossary on the back cover wrote:
Crushing Victory – Automatic victory for a Fight Round,
regardless of Strength Totals. Achieved by rolling a 6 on Fight
Dice.


It looks to me like rolling the 6 is a Crushing Victory. I'm not seeing any rule that says the definition only applies if you actually go on to win the fight.

If both sides rolled a 6, I would roll two times to demolish the power plant, as both sides have unleashed devastating fire power.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.