Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Blocks in the East» Forums » Rules

Subject: Air Recon in Blitz Phase rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Greg Rogers
United States
APO
US Armed Forces - Europe
flag msg tools
Emanuele,

If an air unit or artillery unit follows ground units into an adjacent hex in the Blitz Phase, does one need a new (successful) Air Recon activity into that hex to avoid the air/artillery attack penalties? If so, can an Air HQ activate again in the Blitz Phase in order to allow that to happen in case it has already used up all of its Air Recon attempts in the earlier Combat Phase?

Thanks,

Greg R.
2 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emanuele Santandrea
Italy
Milano
MI
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
I love it when a plan comes together!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Greg,

this is probably the trickiest question I have got since now, and proves you already have a deep knowledge of BITE details.

There have been many discussions here in VNG about this. And still have, because implications are many and very different.

We are currently thinking at a sentence like this:

Once disocvered by AIR RECON or in combat, units (of both sides) remain face up till the Final Supply Check.

So, back to your situation, when blitzing, I usually try to RECON also the hexes behind the normal attack, so in case the enemy units would succesfully survive the combat and escape to another hex already occupied by another unit, when I blitz with my armors (followed by TECH 2 Air Units and Artillery) I dont get the MALUS for REON lack.

Great Greg.

ALL THE BEST
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Rogers
United States
APO
US Armed Forces - Europe
flag msg tools
Based on what you wrote, all Air Recons need to be announced in the Regular Combat Phase. Hexes that "could" be attacked in the Blitz Phase would need to be targeted by Air Recon at that time at the Attacking Player's discretion. Air Recon attempts themselves cannot be done in the Blitz Phase.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emanuele Santandrea
Italy
Milano
MI
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
I love it when a plan comes together!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
grogers64 wrote:
Based on what you wrote, all Air Recons need to be announced in the Regular Combat Phase. Hexes that "could" be attacked in the Blitz Phase would need to be targeted by Air Recon at that time at the Attacking Player's discretion. Air Recon attempts themselves cannot be done in the Blitz Phase.


RIGHT

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Rogers
United States
APO
US Armed Forces - Europe
flag msg tools
Emanuele,

Air HQs can either activate and then move or first move and then activate. I'm trying to determine whether an Air HQ can conduct an Air Recon from its ending hex if it activated in its initial hex? If not, does one have to mark the hex that the Air HQ started from (or have a good memory) since Air Recons take place in the Anti-Aircraft Fire Combat Step - after all the units have already moved?

Greg
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Rogers
United States
APO
US Armed Forces - Europe
flag msg tools
Emanuele,

Air HQs can either activate and then move or first move and then activate. I'm trying to determine whether an Air HQ can conduct an Air Recon from its ending hex if it activated in its initial hex? If not, does one have to mark the hex that the Air HQ started from (or have a good memory) since Air Recons take place in the Anti-Aircraft Fire Combat Step - after all the units have already moved?

Greg
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim O'Neill (Established 1949)
Scotland
Motherwell
Graduate of Barlinnie
flag msg tools
VENI, VIDI, VISA - my good wife conquering a Shopping Mall.
badge
Like a good red wine, I improve with age... and being laid.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
grogers64 wrote:
Emanuele,

Air HQs can either activate and then move or first move and then activate. I'm trying to determine whether an Air HQ can conduct an Air Recon from its ending hex if it activated in its initial hex? If not, does one have to mark the hex that the Air HQ started from (or have a good memory) since Air Recons take place in the Anti-Aircraft Fire Combat Step - after all the units have already moved?

Greg


grogers64 wrote:
Emanuele,

Air HQs can either activate and then move or first move and then activate. I'm trying to determine whether an Air HQ can conduct an Air Recon from its ending hex if it activated in its initial hex? If not, does one have to mark the hex that the Air HQ started from (or have a good memory) since Air Recons take place in the Anti-Aircraft Fire Combat Step - after all the units have already moved?

Greg

You could be right both times...

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emanuele Santandrea
Italy
Milano
MI
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
I love it when a plan comes together!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
grogers64 wrote:
Emanuele,

Air HQs can either activate and then move or first move and then activate. I'm trying to determine whether an Air HQ can conduct an Air Recon from its ending hex if it activated in its initial hex? If not, does one have to mark the hex that the Air HQ started from (or have a good memory) since Air Recons take place in the Anti-Aircraft Fire Combat Step - after all the units have already moved?

Greg


AIR HQs can move without beeing activated, but once activated they cannot move further.

Usually, at the beginning of the Movement Phase, I move and activate first all my AIR HQ and start RECON.
As soon as I find a weak point 8(2 is better than 1, as I like forks) in enemy lines, I committ there the best units I have (2 panzers, 1 artillery, 1 fighter and 1 Stuka), while keeping in Reserve Mode (Motorization) 2-4 Infantry nearby.

As soon as my Punta di Lancia smashes the enemy, in the exploitation Phase I throw behind enemy lines both my Panzers and Infantry in Reserve.


EDIT 82---> 2 lol
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Rogers
United States
APO
US Armed Forces - Europe
flag msg tools
Emanuele,

The way that the rules are given, Air Recons take place in the Combat Phase since the die roll takes place after the Anti-Aircraft Fire Combat Step. Does this need to be rewritten so that one can do a Recon during the Movement Phase?

Greg
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emanuele Santandrea
Italy
Milano
MI
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
I love it when a plan comes together!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Unbelievable but true... thanks to a couple of German players, we had this noticed early this afternoon. Here the changes:

------------------------------

19.0 AIR RECONNAISSANCE
Air reconnaissance (RECON) allows the
phasing player to reveal enemy units in
the target hex.
It confers an advantage in combat, as air
and artillery units need a clear vision of
the target hex to attack at full strength:
without a good RECON, attacking air and
artillery units get 1 Malus in the Air-to-
Ground and Artillery Fire Combat Step of
the first combat round. After, the hex is
supposed to be succesfylly reconned. The
defender, the strategic bombers, and the
German Gustav Heavy Siege Gun (26.0)
do not need RECON. RECON in rainy
weather is possible.
19.1 Air Recon Procedure
In addition to its normal abilities, during the
Movement Phase, every activated Air-HQ
may perform a number of RECON attempts
equal to the number of its Action Points.
The activated HQ of Axis Powers (13.8.3)
may make 1 RECON attempt, too.
Each attempt has a chance to reveal the
enemy units in a target hex. This target
hex must be in a range of 5/10/15 hexes
depending on the Tech Level of that nation's
fighters, and the same hex may be
targeted more than once.
Note: It is not necessary to send an air
unit for recon in the target hex. Air recon
is just a special ability of some HQ.
Then, immediately after the phasing player
has declared his willing to attempt a RECON
over a specified hex, the non phasing
player will try to interdict this action by
rolling as many dice as in the Anti-Aircraft
Fire Combat Step (Recon interdiction
dice)..
Then, if the phasing player failed to interdict
the RECON, the phasing player will roll a
die (Recon Die),, which will be successful
with a (modified) die roll of 1-4,
andthe non-phasing player must immediately
reveal all of his units in the target
hex by tipping them forward, face up.
The Recon Die is modified by the following
circumstances:
• Subtract 2 from the die roll for each
Fighter Tech Level higher than 1.
• Add 2 to the die roll if the hex is a forest,
hills, mountains, or swamp hex, or if the
hex contains a major city or bunker.
• Add 4 to the die roll if the hex contains a
fortress.
• Add 2 to the die roll in bad weather turns.
(All modifiers are cumulative as usual.)
Note: Vologda is major city in a forest hex.
During bad weather turns, a recon attempt
is of any use without fighter TECH 3.
Example: the German player in July 1941
has activated the 4steps 2LF air HQ, and
wants to RECON the Smolensk hex, occupied
by 3 Soviet units: 1 2step-infantry,
1 1step tank and 1 3steps fighter.
The Soviet player rolls 4 dice for AIR INTERDICTION:
2 dice for Smolensk (Major
City hit at 6), 2 dice for the infantry (hit at
6) and one die for the tank (hit at 5/6):
results are 4-4 for the city, 5-1 for the infantry,
and 5 for the tank. So the RECON
is negated. As the 2LF has 4 steps, he
may make 3 more RECON attempts, so
as soon as the RECON INTERDICTION
DICE fail, the German player will roll the
RECON DIE (successful with 1-4 in a Major
City.
Once disocvered by AIR RECON or in
combat, units (of both sides) remain
face up till the Final Supply Check.


-----------------------


And usual thanks for having a close watch.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JS
Germany
North Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Will this be a part of a Manual 3.0 update?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emanuele Santandrea
Italy
Milano
MI
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
I love it when a plan comes together!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. Do you need it?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JS
Germany
North Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. I think that all fans do need it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.