Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Darkest Night» Forums » Rules

Subject: Oath of Purging and changes to default grace rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bryan Graham
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
I am Broccoli, most intelligent vegetable!
badge
I will destroy you all!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I realize this might seem a little rules-lawyery, but so be it.

If you use Oath of Purging while in the Monastery, does it break immediately? I ask because it says you break it if you "Enter the Monastery", not if you're already there.


If an effect changes your default secrecy/grace, does your current value increase by that amount as well? or just the max?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Lennert
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Broccoli wrote:
If you use Oath of Purging while in the Monastery, does it break immediately?
No.

Broccoli wrote:
If an effect changes your default secrecy/grace, does your current value increase by that amount as well? or just the max?
No.

Default grace is not a maximum. Your default grace only matters when something specifically refers to it; for example, praying lets you gain grace "up to default". Things that aren't specifically limited (e.g. a forgotten shrine) can take you above your default.

If changes to your default grace also changed your current grace, then you'd lose grace when a Corruption blight disabled your Holy Mantle and gain it back again when you destroyed the blight or left the area--I, for one, think that would be confusing and annoying.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls