Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Conquest of Planet Earth: The Space Alien Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Alien controlled resistance and abilities rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Frank Otte
Germany
Münster
Nordrhein-Westfalen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The FAQ of the Apocalypse Expansion states, that Heroes taken over by the Selenian Sirens add not only their bonus, but also their abilities, if applicable. Because of that, we can assume, that this works similar, if the Menthalars or Fome Guild Mages control a resistance card. For the most abilities this rule of thumb works quite good, but some abilities are are obscure, if and how they work, if the appropriate card is controlled by the aliens:

(1) Escort: Draws an additional Resistance to add to the Fight.

Q: For which side works this additional resistance (incl. possible heroes)?

(2) Trophy: If defeated, take this card as a trophy and gain +1 Terror Point.

Q: Which side must be defeated, to trigger this ability? Is it a difference, if only "added" to the aliens (-> Selenian Sirens) or if "drawn" or "chosen" by the aliens (-> Menthalars, Fome Guild Mages)?

(3) Paratroopers: When drawn, also place a Paratroopers Resistance Counter in 1 other Random Space on the Board.

Q: What means "drawn"? If the Fome Guild Mages choose this card from discard pile, it's not drawn, I assume? What, if the Menthalars draw this card for their mind control?

(4) Bold: Gains +1 Strength Strength for each alien at the location.

Q: Still applicable, if controlled by the aliens?

(5) Barrage: At the start of each fight round, roll a D6 for each Alien in the same and adjacent spaces. That alien is destroyed on the roll of 1 or 2.

Q: No idea, how this should work, if alien controlled?

(6) If the Menthalars use mind control, draw a hero and after that a regular resistance, for which side works this regular resistance?

(7) If the Menthalars fight against the Selenian Sirens, use their mind control ability and draw a hero, can the Selenian Sirens use Irresistable Musk against this hero?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ted Duby
United States
Honolulu
Hawaii
flag msg tools
badge
If you confess with your mouth the Lord Jesus and believe in your heart that God has raised Him from the dead, you will be saved. (Romans 10:9)
Avatar
Microbadge: ChristianMicrobadge: Plays Games with SpouseMicrobadge: Kansas City Chiefs fanMicrobadge: Golden Board Game CollectorMicrobadge: Oahu Board Gamers Meetup participant
Frank,

I know you have posted a lot of questions on detailed rules recently, and I don't want to discourage you from doing this. But I do want to try to lower your level of expectation on getting satisfactory answers.

The reason I say this is that it appears that Flying Frog does not seem to pay much attention to these forums and does not answer these questions very much.

I have even sent a list of my own questions to the designer of the game and never got a response.

COPE is a great game, but I have come to terms with the fact that a lot of times I just have to make my own common sense decisions on these rules questions while I am playing the game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Otte
Germany
Münster
Nordrhein-Westfalen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
COPE is a great game, but I have come to terms with the fact that a lot of times I just have to make my own common sense decisions on these rules questions while I am playing the game.
Yes, this is really a pity. The game has really funny thematics and some very good mechanics, too, but it is seemingly completely half-baked regarding the tuning of the different game parts to each other.

The game seems to have completely missed (failed?) the ambiguity and consistency beta tests, and is therefor nearly unplayable for a community of hardcore gamers, who try to use every bit of the rules to serve their strategic plans.

For such a group the rules of a game must be at least halfway water proof. This game is unfortunately far from that. For this game, dispute among the gamers about the rules is preprogrammed.

I own the base game for long and patiently waited for the expansion in hope, that many things would be cleared by this opportunity. But even worse, the expansion added more contradictions and more concepts which were not thought to an end and not fully integrated into the remainder of the game. Neither was the wording of the rules improved in accuracy.

Also I hoped, that along with the expansion, the game authors would appear more often again here, which could compensate many flaws. But nothing of that. So I must say:

Good idea, bad implementation, stepmotherly support.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Umstattd
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
All Hail Lelouch
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Hermjard wrote:
The FAQ of the Apocalypse Expansion states, that Heroes taken over by the Selenian Sirens add not only their bonus, but also their abilities, if applicable. Because of that, we can assume, that this works similar, if the Menthalars or Fome Guild Mages control a resistance card. For the most abilities this rule of thumb works quite good, but some abilities are are obscure, if and how they work, if the appropriate card is controlled by the aliens:

(1) Escort: Draws an additional Resistance to add to the Fight.

Q: For which side works this additional resistance (incl. possible heroes)?

(2) Trophy: If defeated, take this card as a trophy and gain +1 Terror Point.

Q: Which side must be defeated, to trigger this ability? Is it a difference, if only "added" to the aliens (-> Selenian Sirens) or if "drawn" or "chosen" by the aliens (-> Menthalars, Fome Guild Mages)?

(3) Paratroopers: When drawn, also place a Paratroopers Resistance Counter in 1 other Random Space on the Board.

Q: What means "drawn"? If the Fome Guild Mages choose this card from discard pile, it's not drawn, I assume? What, if the Menthalars draw this card for their mind control?

(4) Bold: Gains +1 Strength Strength for each alien at the location.

Q: Still applicable, if controlled by the aliens?

(5) Barrage: At the start of each fight round, roll a D6 for each Alien in the same and adjacent spaces. That alien is destroyed on the roll of 1 or 2.

Q: No idea, how this should work, if alien controlled?

(6) If the Menthalars use mind control, draw a hero and after that a regular resistance, for which side works this regular resistance?

(7) If the Menthalars fight against the Selenian Sirens, use their mind control ability and draw a hero, can the Selenian Sirens use Irresistable Musk against this hero?
Since the original text says "add not only their bonus but also their abilities if applicable" this would only apply to strength additions. The line should have possibly been specified to state "Add not only their strength bonus but also their abilities if applicable" though the world "strength" is a bit redundant in this case. This removes all the confusion as you cannot "add" say a barrage ability as it has no numerical strength value.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls