Article Edit | History | Editors

Conflict of Heroes FAQ RSS Feed

FAQ for Conflict of Heroes: Awakening the Bear! – Russia 1941-42

Info taken from FAQs in file area and various forum threads, consolidated into a Wiki page so that people can more easily find all the info in one place and update it.
List of game FAQs

Where to find official rules updates and FAQs

List of official downloadable successive rule versions for Conflict of Heroes:

Some official FAQs:

2.0 Pre-Turn Sequence

2.1 Roll for Initiative : procedure for spending CAPs

A later rule (3.24 New Turn Die Roll) clarifies the player order for spending CAPs to modify the initiative rolls: The player with the most CAPs announces how many he will spend to modify his die roll. (In case of ties, the Soviet player must decide first.) Then his opponent announces how many CAPs he will spend.

2.4 Game End and Victory

VPs for specific units

If the firefight says you get 1 VP for any unit eliminated, and it also says you get 2 VPs for a specific unit, then eliminating that specific unit gives you 2 (not 3) VPs.

3.0 Unit Activation

Active player, activated unit, and all that

There is a concept of active player; one player will be active for a while until he passes; then the other player becomes active. This continues until they both pass one after the other, ending the turn. Whoever won the initiative roll is the first active player in a turn.

During the active player's turn, he can (but doesn't have to) activate a unit (or group of units when you reach rule section 9.0). Activated units spend green APs. You can also spend blue CAPs to make any unit do an action, or to supplement green APs of an activated unit.

During a turn, the players will alternate actions. I.e. the active player does one action, then the other player may perform one action (if they wish) in response, then the active player does another action, and so on. Eventually the active player passes, and the other player becomes the active player and performs some action.

An action can be:
  • Activated units action (only the active player can do this):
    • If there are no activated units, designate one or more unused units in contiguous hexes as the activated units and set their starting AP.
    • Perform one action with the one or more activated units (still) in contiguous hexes, optionally adding unused units in the same or adjacent hexes to the activated units, spending AP (≥1) and optional CAP.
  • Opportunity action: Perform an action (such as firing, moving one hex, rallying) with one or more unused, non-activated units in contiguous hexes; mark the units as used.
  • Command action: Spend CAP to perform an action with one or more units in contiguous hexes.
  • Action card action: Use an action card to perform an action with one or more units in the same hex.
  • Pass: Pass, marking any activated units as used.

Note that the active player stays the active player until they pass. Just because their activated unit uses up APs (or even dies) doesn't mean the player is no longer the active player. They could still keep doing other types of actions.

Conversely, the active player is not obliged to do any actions with their units - their very first action could be Pass. If the other player also then passes, the turn is over.

The above summary was partly inspired by Aldaron's file, which is well worth downloading and includes a handy state transition diagram!

When an activated unit reaches 0 APs

An activated unit reaching 0 APs does not actually cause it to be flipped immediately; it is simply often convenient to do so, and people typically do. But you could still, for example, play card 7 that adds +1D6 APs to an "activated unit" to give it a positive number of APs again and keep doing actions with it.

3.2 Spend CAPs to modify a single die roll

You can spend 1 or 2 CAPs to modify a die roll. That means literally one die roll. E.g. if you attack a hex with several units, each attack is resolved separately with its own roll. If the initiative roll is a tie, you roll a second time. Etc. Each individual roll can have CAPs spent to affect it.

4.0 Terrain


Walls don't block LOS. "A wall gives a unit +1DM protection (in addition to the hex’s normal terrain type protection) for all incoming fire, from all levels, across a wall bordering the hex the unit is in." So firing along a hex edge with a wall does not per se provide defensive protection, since that hex edge does not border the hex the target is in.

6.0 Line of Sight (LOS)

LOS along the edge of two hexes

"If LOS passes exactly along the edge of two hexes, it is always affected by the hex with the lesser obstacle." So even if there's an LOS-blocking hex on the left of one edge, and then later there's an LOS-blocking hex on the right of a later edge, the LOS is unblocked. Only if both hexes of the same edge are LOS-blocking is the LOS blocked.

No maximum distance for LOS

There is no maximum distance for LOS (unlike for attacking).

Units do not block LOS

You can fire through hexes with friendly or enemy units; the attack is unaffected by their presence.

7.0 Combat

Note that an attack is a single action (with a single cost, even if there are several enemies in the target hex, or if a group is firing together - see rule 9.0).

If several enemies are in the attacked hex, separate die rolls are made to resolve each one. (So CAPs spent to modify a roll affect just one roll. To modify more than one attack roll requires spending separate CAPs for each roll.)

7.3 Destroyed Units and CAP Track Adjustments

"At the beginning of each turn, the total number of CAPs a player receives decreases by 1 for every unit lost up to that point." But arrival of reinforcement does not increase your CAP allotment (unless a scenario specifically says so).

7.63 Same Hex and Close Combat (CC)

The CC rules have evolved over time. As of 2009-02:
The attacker attacks all enemy units in its hex as a single attack action, not just one enemy unit.
During CC resolution the defender's flank DR is used (not the lower of their 2 DR's).
CC does not affect friendly units in the same hex and it affects only one enemy unit.
Units with a positive minimum attack range (e.g. mortars) can attack in CC.

8.0 Action Cards

3. Gray Cards

"Gray cards are held openly by the respective players." This means literally that the gray cards a player holds are not secret but are visible to the opponent.

9.0 Group Actions

9.1 No 1 CAP cost for groups in several hexes

As of the 2009-02 rulebook, there is no longer a 1 CAP cost for group actions when not in the same hex.

9.12 Group Firing

One unit is the fire leader. Others in the same hex or hexes directly adjacent to the fire leader can join the attack. Whether the target uses its Front or Flank Defense Rating depends on which side the group's fire leader is hitting.

"Directly adjacent" means in one of the 6 neighboring hexes; being somewhere in a connected multi-hex chain of friendly occupied hexes is not sufficient to be "directly adjacent".

10.0 Hidden Units

10.1 Moving 1 space secretly or 2 spaces rehiding

A hidden unit can secretly move one space without revealing itself for 7 APs. A hidden unit can reveal itself and rehide itself up to 2 spaces away for 7 APs.

13.0 Smoke

Height of smoke for LOS blocking purposes?

The latest rules (2009-02) don't seem to mention any maximum height of smoke, although there was a forum post by Uwe discussing the idea of having height for smoke for LOS blocking purposes.

Action Cards

#6 Mark As Used

This cannot be played on a hidden unit.

#7 +1D6 APs

An activated unit with 0 APs is technically still activated until the active player passes. So it can receive 1D6 APs via this card.

#20 Stop Vehicle

This cannot be played on a hidden unit.

#30 Reveal Hidden

This card reveals "hidden units". Mines and fortifications are not considered units.

Victory Point hexes are scored even if no one enters them

If a scenario starts with a VP hex controlled by one side (e.g. USSR) then that player gets the point for it at the end of the round even if no unit entered the hex.

[What Links Here]