Article Edit | History | Editors

Famiglia FAQ RSS Feed

FAQ for Famiglia

Info taken from FAQs in file area and various forum threads, consolidated into a Wiki page so that people can more easily find all the info in one place and update it.
List of game FAQs

Updated rule: If you add new cards, you can only take a newly drawn card

In 2015 a rule was updated (possibly in response to a possible degenerate situation):

If you add new cards to the Street in Step 1, in Step 4 you may only take a card from these newly drawn cards.
https://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/1440062/article/20411153#20411153

(It seems you can then further discard old or new cards.)

Green mercenaries can be used to take green mercenaries

A green card can be used as a lower green card when taking a green card, e.g. a green 0 and green 2 can take a green 1. (The word "other" in "can be played as matching cards for other families" in the Rio Grande English rules is a mistranslation.)
http://boardgamegeek.com/article/5945818#5945818

You can use only 1 joker when taking a card, so you can not use a green 1 and green 2 to take a green 1: one of the cards must be the "correct" card.

A card's special action can always be done with value less than its maximum

A card's special action can always be done with value less than its maximum. That's clear from the green card icons, but not the yellow and blue card icons. I.e.:
  • Yellow brutes can lower by less than their value (even though the Rio Grande English rules say "reduced by the value of the Brute card"). E.g. if you have a couple of red 2 cards and a yellow 2, you could lower the value of the red 4 by just 1 (not 2) to be able to take it with your two red 2 cards.
  • Blue accountants can be used to exchange fewer card pairs than its value (even though the Rio Grande English rules say "This allows him to exchange 1-4 (the value of the card played) cards").

http://boardgamegeek.com/article/5714663#5714663

Game end when refilling empty street

If the deck runs out due to refilling the street with 6 cards after a player took the last card on the street, then:
  • If this happens at the end of player 2's turn, as described above, play another whole turn. So both players get another chance to get a card.
  • If this happens at the end of player 1's turn, player 2 finishes his turn and game ends.

http://boardgamegeek.com/article/6814615#6814615

Game end by passing

If both players pass one after the other, the game is over, regardless of whether you've started going through the deck again or not.
http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/673298/game-end-rules-question-famiglia

Solitaire variant

The game comes with no solitaire variant, but one was later released.
http://www.riograndegames.com/games.html?id=397
http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/585021/any-interest-or-suggestions-regarding-a-solitaire

Easter eggs

http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/610976/inside-jokes-in-famiglia-with-pictures
http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/626667/secret-of-id-numbers

[What Links Here]