Search: Titles Only:
Article Edit | History | Editors

Legendary Marvel FAQ

Table of Contents

Introduction

Who's Who of Sources

  • Brenner: Jason Brenner (BGG Brenzor), former Brand Manager of Upper Deck.
  • Devin: Devin Low (BGG devinlow), Designer of Legendary Marvel.
  • Jeff: Jeff Piroozshad (BGG JeffP300), former Developer for Legendary Marvel and former Entertainment and Marketing Manager for Upper Deck.
  • Mark: Mark Shaunessy (BGG Mark UD OP), Playtester for Legendary Marvel and Entertainment and Marketing Manager and Developer for Upper Deck.
  • Tyler: Tyler Mayes (BGG Tyler Mayes), current representative for Upper Deck.
  • William: William Sobel (BGG _redmask), former Playtester for Legendary and former Entertainment Marketing Manager for Upper Deck.

Specific rulings are only made by Devin, but clarifications have been posted by each of these sources.

Related: Master List of Game FAQs on BGG, Legendary Buffy FAQ


Errata

Heroes

Domino

Lucky Break – There should be a printed RECRUIT icon behind the top "0+" on the side of the card. This is consistent with heroes that have the "Versatile" keyword. (For clarity, compare this card to the other Domino cards.) Source: Devin

Emma Frost

Diamond Form – There should be a RECRUIT icon on her card that reads "0+".

Shadowed Thoughts – Her ATTACK should read "2+" instead of "2".

Nick Fury

High Tech Weaponry – His ATTACK should read "2+" instead of "2".


Villains

Chitauri Soldier

Text box is an "Ambush" effect, not a "Fight" effect, and should read: "Ambush: Chitauri Soldier captures a Bystander." Source: Mark

Marauders: Vertigo

Text box is a "Fight" effect and should read: "Fight: Each player discards their hand then draws as many cards as they discarded." Source: Brenner


Base Set Rule Book

Timing of Resolution of Fight Effects, Page 13

Fight effects occur after defeating the enemies and placing them in the Victory Pile, not before comparing Attack Totals as the rulebook states. Source: Devin

Solo Setup, Page 20

The final bullet under "Villain Deck" has a formatting error. There should be a period and a line break after "Scheme". It should read as "The normal number of Scheme Twists listed on the Scheme." The phrase "Special Solo Rules" that comes after "Scheme" on that line of the rule book should be a new bold header for the sentence that comes next. Source: Devin


FAQ

General Rules Questions

Blank/Double-Sided Cards

Q: I opened my big expansion, and there are these cards that just have the Legendary card back design on both sides! Is this a printing or packaging error?

A: No, this is entirely normal.

Q: Do these "blank" cards end up making the expansion cost more?

A: According to Jason Brenner, no, the extra cards do not increase the cost. The additional weight of the blank cards added to the box incurs extra shipping charges (approximately $0.02 per box when amortized over the entire print run). If those cards were not included, however, the manufacturing cost of the set would have to be increased, and that increase would unfortunately be passed on to the consumer. Adding in the blank cards to round out the printing forms allows for certain printing efficiencies that result in a lower net manufacturing cost. Source: Brenner

Q: What should I do with them?

A: Some people who sleeve their Legendary cards print out "custom" (unofficial) cards on regular paper and put them in sleeves along with blank cards in order to make these printed-at-home cards look and feel like official cards when face-down. Thread

Bystanders

Q: When a villain escapes with multiple bystanders, do I discard 1 card total, or 1 card per bystander?

A: Each player only discards one card, no matter how many Bystanders were carried away by that Villain. Source: Rulebook, page 9

Q: Does Shapeshifted Copycat keep coming back after you defeat it?

A: No, it only comes back when it is initially rescued. After that, it is a Villain and if you defeat it, it will stay in your VP Pile. Source: Jeff

Costs and Printed Numbers

Q: Do I make any adjustments for "printed" statistics on cards?

A: When a card effect checks for a "printed" statistic, it always means that it looks for statistics literally printed on the card, not any other statistics a card may have gained from Scheme or other game instructions. Example 1: Punisher: Hail of Bullets states "Reveal the top card of the Villain Deck. If It’s a Villain, you get +ATTACK equal to its printed VP." If you are playing the Scheme Replace Earth’s Leaders with Killbots, and reveal a "Killbot Villain" while resolving Punisher’s card effect, Punisher gets +1 ATTACK, since a Bystander card has "1VP" printed on it. Example 2: If you are playing the Scheme Transform Citizens into Demons and reveal a "Demon Queen" while resolving Punisher’s card effect, Punisher gets +0 ATTACK, since a Jean Grey card does not have a VP value printed on it. Source: Devin

Q: What is the cost of a Wound?

A: Wounds have a cost of "0". Source: Devin (Also, the Dark City rules sheet.)

Deck

Q: If I prevent a discard from the top of my deck with an effect such as Ice Man: Impenetrable Ice Wall, in what order do the cards return to the top of the deck?

A: The cards remain in the same order they were revealed. For example, if you defeat the Mastermind Tactic Stryfe: Psychic Torment, which states "Look at the top five cards of your deck. Put one in your hand and discard the rest," you first put one of the cards in your hand, then reveal Ice Man to prevent the discard and return the remaining 4 cards to the top of your deck in the order you drew them. Source: Devin

Q: What should I do if I need to reveal the top card of my deck (or do something else to my deck), but it's empty?

A: If a card tells you to interact with your deck in any way (KO, draw, reveal, look at, etc.) and your deck is empty or becomes empty while resolving its text and you still need to interact with more cards from your deck, immediately reshuffle your discard pile and continue carrying out the effect. If you do not have any cards in your discard pile either (all your cards are in your hand or in play) then you would not have any cards on which to carry out the effect. Source 1: Devin / Source 2: Devin

Discarding Cards

Q: When something tells me to "discard a card", where do I discard it from? Can I discard from the top of my deck, or discard something in play?

A: When a card says "discard a card," the discarded card must be a card from your hand unless the effect specifies to discard from somewhere else (e.g. "discard a card from the top of your deck"). Source: Devin

Q: What's the difference between "Makes you discard" and "Causes you to discard"?

A: Devin has clarified that these two wordings are functionally equivalent, and that the less confusing "Causes you to discard" was implemented in Dark City (and used going forward). This means that even if you choose to discard a card that says "makes you discard," the effect still occurs. For example, if you play Angel: Drop Off a Friend and then choose to discard Cyclops: Unending Energy to trigger Angel’s card text, you could then return Cyclops to your hand. Source: Devin

Q: If an effect tells me to "put a card into your discard pile" does that count as a discard?

A: Any card effect that uses the word "discard" and puts the card into your discard pile can trigger Unending Energy. For example, a card that says "Look at the top card of your deck. Put it in your hand or your discard pile" can trigger Unending Energy because it says the word "discard". If it uses the word 'discard" and puts the card in your discard pile, it counts. Source: Devin

Drawing Cards

Q: Do card effects that refer to drawing "extra cards" include cards that you draw and then discard or return to the deck? What about cards that are drawn to replace cards you are forced to discard, such as Kingpin’s Master Strike? For example: If I use Gambit: Stack the Deck to draw two cards and then return one to the top of my deck, does Wolverine: Berserker Rage’s superpower give me +2 ATTACK for drawing two cards, or only +1 ATTACK because even though I drew two cards initially, I had to put one of them back for a net of +1 card?

A: Yes. Cards that count how many extra cards you have drawn this turn don't care how many cards you discarded or put back. They only care how many extra cards you have drawn this turn. In this case, for example, Wolverine: Berserker Rage would gain +2 ATTACK because the player drew two
cards, even though he put one card back on top of his deck. Source 1: Devin / Source 2: Devin

Q: If a card effect says to "put a card" into your hand, is that considered "drawing a card" for interaction with other cards, for example cards that ask if you have "drawn a card" that turn?

A: No. "Put a card in your hand" is not the same as "Draw a card" for cards that ask if you have drawn cards. For Example: Spider-Man: The Amazing Spider-Man says to "Reveal the top three cards of your deck. Put any that cost 2 or less into your hand." Wolverine: Berserker Rage says "Draw three cards. [INSTINCT]: You get +1 for each extra card you’ve drawn this turn." If you play The Amazing Spider-Man, resulting in putting two cards into your hand, then any [INSTINCT] Hero (without card draw), then Berserker Rage, you only get +3 ATTACK for Berserker Rage for the three cards drawn by its own text since the 2 cards from The Amazing Spider-Man were not considered "drawn." Source: Devin

Escapes

Q: How should I handle schemes that count escapes when a villain escapes and goes somewhere else?

A: Some Schemes say things like “Evil Wins: When 8 Villains escape.” or “Evil Wins: When 4 Villains per player have escaped.” These count all the Villain cards currently in the Escape Pile. This includes other card types like Bystanders, Heroes, or Master Strikes that were turned into Villains by special abilities and escaped the city as Villains.

There are a few Villains across Legendary that escape the city then leave the Escape Pile. For example, some Villains say “Escape: This becomes a Scheme Twist that takes effect immediately.” Others say “Escape: This ascends to become a new Mastermind.” Or “Escape: Shuffle this Villain back into the Villain Deck.” Or "Escape: This Fortifies the Bystander Stack..." You don’t have to remember that these Villains escaped when counting the number of “Escaped Villains,” since “Escaped Villains” only counts Villain cards currently in the Escape Pile. Source: Devin

Horrors

Q: What does it mean for a Horror to have Ambush?

A: There are two types of horrors. Those with Ambush effects, and those without. Horrors with Ambush effects will only have their effect when they are revealed. After that, they don't happen again. For example, consider a horror that says, "Ambush: Play two cards from the Villain deck." When you reveal this card, you immediately play two cards as instructed, then it has no further effect. So you wouldn't continue to do this every turn. (You can put it in the KO pile.)

Horrors without Ambush create ongoing static effects that persist for the remainder of the game. For example, consider a horror that says, "The mastermind gets +3 Attack." Once this card is revealed, the mastermind always has +3 attack for the rest of the game. It doesn't keep increasing every turn, nor does it go away after the next time you defeat them. (This card would stay in play, wherever you'd like to place it.) Source: Thread with Mark

Q: How and when are Horrors played?

A: There are three ways that Horrors are played.

First, as mentioned on the rules sheet, you can play some before a match starts to increase the difficulty of the match. You can choose them, or randomly deal them out. If you get an Ambush effect at this point... Well, I guess you do it right then, before the match starts. (It may make more sense to redeal any Ambush effects, but I haven't tried this yet.)

Second, they can be played by Epic Masterminds as indicated on their cards. This would allow horrors to come into play mid-game, and change the difficulty and rules mid-stream.

Finally, there's a scheme that instructs you to play random horrors when a Twist occurs. These would be played from the Horror deck. Source: Thread with Mark

Q: Are Horrors ever added to the Villain deck?

A: No, they are never added to the Villain deck. Source: Mark

Multiple Masterminds

Q: How would it work if you would have the 'Zombie Mister Sinister' become mastermind next to, let's say, 'Red Skull' and 'Inferno Cyclops' escapes with ≥2 bystanders. Can you choose which Mastermind gains the Bystanders? Or is it by default the "Main" Mastermind? Or perhaps, even out the Bystanders over the two Masterminds? But then again if you would have 3, which one gets 2 and which one would get 1?

A: As the Legendary rulebook says on p.16, "If a special ability calls for a choice, and it's not obvious who should make the choice, then the player whose turn it is makes the choice." So when Inferno Cyclops escapes with Bystanders, the player whose turn it is would choose one of those Masterminds to capture all those Bystanders.

Likewise, for any ability that affects "the Mastermind," if there are multiple Masterminds in play, then the player using the ability chooses which one to affect. If no player is using the ability, then the player whose turn it is chooses. Source: Devin

Q: If one Mastermind has already been beaten but one or more others haven't, do defeated Masterminds still perform strikes?

A: No, defeated Masterminds won't perform Master Strikes. So a Mastermind whose 4 Tactics have been defeated won't perform Master Strikes, and a Villain card that has "ascended" to become an additional Mastermind but is then defeated won't perform Strikes. Source: Devin

Q: If a Villain ascends to become a mastermind, how do I defeat them when they don't have tactics?

A: Just fight them once to defeat them, then place them in your VP pile. Source: Jeff

Playing as the Mastermind

Q: As the Mastermind, can I fight the Mastermind on the board?

A: No, the Mastermind Player can't attack the Mastermind card. The Secret Wars rulesheet says that "The Mastermind Player can also fight Villains as normal. For example, if they want to grab beneficial “Fight” effects from Villains, or stop Heroic players from getting them." But as the Legendary rulebook says, Mastermind cards are so powerful that they aren't considered Villains. Source: Devin

Q: What happens if the Ambition deck runs out? Do you reshuffle?

A: No, if the Ambition Deck did run out, you would stop drawing Ambition cards and not reshuffle the Ambition Deck. Source: Devin

Q: If I've got one "heroic" player and one "Mastermind" player, are there only three Heroes in the Hero deck?

A: Yes, regardless of whether the Mastermind is using a separate Lair or sharing the HQ with the Hero player. The Secret Wars rulesheet says "Use a number of Heroes, Villains, Henchmen, and Bystanders based on the number of “Heroic players,” not the Mastermind Player." So if there is 1 Heroic player and 1 Mastermind Player, then you would use 3 Heroes in the Hero Deck. Source: Devin

Q: Does the Mastermind KO a card from the HQ (or from his Lair) if a Villain escapes? Rules say he doesn't discard for a carried away Bystander, but doesn't say anything specific about the KO.

A: When using a Mastermind Player, this works just like normal Legendary: When a Villain escapes, the current player KOs a Hero from the HQ of cost 6 or less. That current player might be a Heroic Player or might be the Mastermind Player. If you are using a separate Lair of Villainous Allies for the Mastermind Player, they won't get KO'd by escapes. Source: Devin

Playing Cards

Q: Do I have to play all the cards in my hand?

A: You can choose not to play the cards in your hand during your turn, but you do still have to discard them at the end of your turn. Source: Devin

Promos

Q: What promos are available for this game?

A: Most promos are alternate-art versions of existing cards. Sets released in 2017 contain a "1st Print Run Promo" which are new cards that are only available in copies made in the initial print run. These boxes are easily distinguishable by a sticker on the outside of the box. (Noir featured the Detective Wolverine bystander.)

Organized Play kits, used to promote the game in stores, also offer a mix of promo cards. The first OP kit contains a thick plastic version of the Loki mastermind, a foil alt-art version of the "Unleash the Power of the Cosmic Cube" scheme, foil copies of Thor's rare "God of Thunder" card, and a playmat with new art. Subsequent OP kits follow the same model.

There are also additional cards (Howard the Duck, Man Thing, henchman groups and bystanders) that were released in the Marvel 3D trading card crossover product.

The current list of (non-3D) promo cards:
LPC 1 En Sabah Nur
LPC 2 Hulk - Hulk Smash
LPC 3 Symbiote Spider-man - Thwip!
LPC 4 Green Goblin
LPC 5 Dr. Strange
LPC 6 Nick Fury
LPC 7 Odin
LPC 8 Professor X
LPC 9 Venom - Symbiote Takeover
LPC 10 Venom - Devour
LPC 11 Venom - Horrify the Populace
LPC 12 Venom - Ravenous Greed
LPC 13 Mysterio - Psychedelic Mist
LPC 14 Mysterio - Shifting Decoy
LPC 15 Mysterio - Holographic Illusion
LPC 16 Mysterio - False Reflection
LPC 17 Nimrod
LPC 18 Madelyne Prior
LPC 19 Wasteland Hulk
LPC 20 Zombie Green Goblin
LPC 21 (#1) Zombie Venom

LPC 21 (#2) Wang Chi (Shake the Pillars of Heaven)
LPC 22 Sorcerous Lo Pan - Mastermind
LPC 23 Six Shooter - Mastermind

LPC 24 OP Kit 1: Unleash the Power of the Cosmic Cube (foil, alt art)
LPC 25 OP Kit 1: Loki (Mastermind, plastic)
LPC 26 OP Kit 1: Thor - God of Thunder (foil)

LPC 27 OP Kit 2: Organized Crime Wave (foil, alt art)
LPC 28 OP Kit 2: Kingpin (Mastermind, plastic)
LPC 29 OP Kit 2: Daredevil - The Man Without Fear (foil)

LPC 30 OP Kit 3: Invade the Daily Bugle News HQ (foil, alt art)
LPC 31 OP Kit 3: Mysterio (Mastermind, plastic)
LPC 32 OP Kit 3: Symbiote Spider-Man - Thwip! (foil)

LPC 33 Detective Wolverine (Noir 1st print run)
LPC 34 Magik (Heroic Bystander, X-Men 1st print run)
LPC 35 (#1) Damage Control (Bystander, Spider-Man Homecoming 1st print run)

LPC 35 (#2) Dingoes Ate My Baby (Bystander, Buffy 1st print run)

Note 1: The original En Sabah Nur promo distributed at GenCon is LPC 1. The version available as part of the Dice Tower Kickstarter campaign is actually labeled as LPC 2. There is no other difference between the two, other than the Dice Tower logo on the corner. The Joe Jusko promos are not numbered, but there's no other spot for them in the list besides 2, 3, and 4.

Note 2: Due to another apparent mistake in numbering, there are two different LPC 21 promos: Zombie Venom and Wang Chi.

Note 3: LPC 21 (#2) (Wang Chi - Shake the Pillars of Heaven), LPC 22 (Sorcerous Lo Pan - Mastermind), and LPC 23 Six Shooter - Mastermind are promos for Legendary: Big Trouble in Little China. These feature screen grabs from the movie and were autographed by the actors. They were available only at Gen Con 2016.

Note 4: Another number collision. There are two different LPC 35 first print run promos: Damage Control (Spider-Man Homecoming) and Dingoes Ate My Baby (Buffy).

Revealing Cards

Q: How many times can I reveal a card from my hand for its ability? For example, Captain America: Diving Block says "If you would gain a Wound, you may reveal this card and draw a card instead."

A: You can reveal a card for its effect as many times per turn as its trigger occurs. In this example, if you gain a Wound from a Master Strike at the beginning of your turn, then play a Hero that requires you to gain a wound, then fight a villain in the City who causes you to gain a wound, you may reveal Captain America: Diving Block and carry out the card draw for each of those circumstances for a total of three times that turn. Source: Devin

Q: If a card effect tells me to reveal a card from my hand, deck, discard pile, etc. and doesn’t tell me where to put the card after revealing it where do I put the revealed card?

A: Unless the effect tells you to put the revealed card somewhere else, you return the card to wherever it was revealed from. For Example: Gambit: High Stakes Jackpot says "Reveal the top card of your deck. You get +ATTACK equal to that card’s cost. After you reveal the top card of your deck and add its cost to Gambit’s ATTACK you return the revealed card to the top of your deck because the card does not say to put it anywhere else. Source: Devin

Scoring

Q: Does the scoring section on page 20 apply to only solo games, or multiplayer as well?

A: On Page 20 of the Rulebook, the section titled "Scoring" is meant to be applied only during Solo games. In Multiplayer games the players are competing against each other so subtracting from each score equally would be meaningless. Source: Devin

Setup

Q: If a Scheme’s "Special Rules" and a Mastermind’s "Always Leads" effects conflict, which one takes priority? For example, if I am playing Dr. Doom, who Always Leads the Doombot Legion with the Organized Crime Wave, which says I have to use Maggia Goons as one of the Henchmen groups, and the setup only says to use one Henchmen group, which group do I use?

A: The Scheme always takes priority over the "Always Leads" ability on Masterminds. So in this case, for example, if you were playing with 1, 2, or 3 players to defeat Dr. Doom’s Organized Crime Wave you would only use the Maggia Goons. If you were playing with 4 or 5 players you would then use both Doombot Legion and Maggia Goons, and would not randomly select a different Henchmen group. Source: Devin

Q: I have a lot of Special Bystanders from the expansions, and some of them include duplicates. There are enough to outnumber the original plain Bystanders. How many should I use?

A: It's always been "use as many of the special Bystanders as you wish." Source: JeffP300

Q: Do I include New Recruits, Sidekicks, Special Sidekicks, etc., in my game if I'm not playing with any other elements of the sets they came from?

A: Set it up however you want! Using additional stacks may mitigate the difficulty of certain setups. Source: JeffP300

Sidekicks

Q: What color are normal (Bucky) Sidekicks?

A: Sidekicks are gray. Source: Jeff

Q: Can I play a normal Sidekick but not draw the cards?

A: Yes, you can play the Sidekick and choose not to return it to the stack, which would cause you to not draw two cards. It still counts as played for things that care. Source: Jeff

Q: Does drawing cards from a normal Sidekick count as playing the Sidekick?

A: Yes. You have to play it to trigger the effect to draw cards. Even though it is returned to the Sidekick stack, it still counts as played. Source: Jeff

Solo Games

Q: Who is the player to my left or right? There's no one else here.

A: In a solo game, if a card refers to the player to your right or left, the card effect occurs on you instead. The imagery here is of a round table, around which the card checks for a player to your right/left until it ultimately lands on yourself. Source: Devin

Q: With Advanced Solo rules, if a Scheme Twist counts as another Master Strike, or another card counts as a Scheme Twist, does it resolve such that it requires a card be moved from the HQ to the bottom of the Hero deck?

A: Yes, a Scheme Twist has resolved, so in Advanced Solo you would move a Hero that costs 6 or less from the HQ to the bottom of the Hero Deck. Source: Devin

Q: With Advanced Solo rules, if another card counts as a Master Strike, does it resolve such that another card is played as per the playing a Master Strike rule?

A: Yes, a Master Strike has also resolved, so in Advanced Solo Mode, you would play another card from the Villain Deck. Source: Devin

Superpowers

Q: If I use one card to trigger the Superpower on another later card, can I also use that same card to trigger another superpower later?

A: Yes, superpowers check if a card of the appropriate color/hero class has been played earlier in the turn - the color icons aren't used up, and you can leverage multiple cards' superpowers off of the same initial card played. For example, Iron Man: Endless Invention is a Tech card with a Tech trigger. Playing one copy will not trigger the first (without a Tech card before it), but will trigger every other Endless Invention played afterwards. (And any other cards that require Tech cards to activate their Superpowers.) Source: Devin

Q: Do I have to use a Superpower if it would trigger?

A: Unless a Superpower says "May" in front of its ability, if you have already played the appropriate prerequisite cards to trigger a Superpower, that Superpower will go off when the card is played. Source: Devin

Timing

Q: If a card effect causes a player to gain/discard/draw more than 1 of a card or effect all at once, can the players react to each instance of gaining/discarding/drawing that card or effect individually?

A: Yes. Example 1: If you are playing against the Scheme Unleash the Power of the Cosmic Cube and draw the 7th Scheme Twist from the Villain Deck, which causes the effect "Each player gains 3 Wounds," you can play Captain America: Diving Block, in response to each Wound individually, and thus draw a total of three cards. Example 2: If you have played Jean Grey: Read Your Thoughts, which states "Whenever you rescue a Bystander this turn, you get +1RECRUIT," and defeat the Mastermind Tactic Apocalypse: Immortal and Undefeated, which states "If this is not the final Mastermind Tactic, rescue six Bystanders…," you gain +6RECRUIT, +1 for each Bystander you rescued. Source 1: Devin / Source 2: Devin

Q: Can a card triggered effect happen in the middle of resolving another effect?

A: Cards that use the framework "Whenever A would happen, you may do B instead" are the only effects that can occur in the middle of another card effect. Source: Devin

Q: What happens when two effects should happen at the same time?

A: If two card effects conflict with each other, the most recent card effect that came into play takes priority. For example, you are playing a game versus Mephisto, who states that "Whenever a player gains a wound, put it on top of that player’s deck," and then you play Deadpool: Random Acts of Unkindness, who states "You may gain a Wound to your hand. Then each player passes a card from their hand to the player on their left." Deadpool’s effect came into play most recently, so his ability takes priority and the Wound gained from Deadpool goes directly to your hand. Source: Devin

Q: How do I handle "Whenever [A] happens this turn, do [B]" effects?

A: When a card effect uses this format, it refers to any of effect [A] that happens after the card with that text is played. It does not look backward to before the card was played. For example, if you rescue 2 Bystanders by fighting a Villain in the city, then play Jean Grey – Mind Over Matter, then defeat another Villain with 2 more Bystanders, you would draw 2 cards, one for each of the 2 Bystanders you rescued after you played Jean Grey, but would not draw cards for the 2 Bystanders you rescued before playing Jean Grey. Source: Devin

Q: What effect happens first: Ambush or Escape?

A: This is clarified in the Villains rulebook, and applies to the base game as well:
Remember: if a Villain escaped when this new Villain appeared, handle all the Escape effects for the overrunning Villain before handling any Ambush effect for the new Villain. (Source: Villains rules, p. 9; "Villain" and "Adversary" are equivalent terms.)

Win/Lose/Draw

Q: If the players play the last card from the Villain Deck (assuming it does not fulfill an Evil Wins condition of the current scheme) and then defeat the final Mastermind Tactic that turn, does the game end in a draw or do the players pull off a last turn victory?

A: The players achieve a last turn victory. Playing the last card from the Villain deck means that at the end of that turn the game will end in a draw unless the players can pull off a victory before the end of the turn, which defeating the final Mastermind Tactic triggers immediately. Source: Devin

Q: When does the game end?

A: It depends on whether you are using the Final Showdown rules or not. If you are not using the Final Showdown rules, the game ends immediately after you follow through with the text on the final defeated Mastermind Tactic. If you are using the Final Showdown rules, the player who defeated the last Mastermind Tactic finishes his turn as normal, then the Final Showdown occurs. Source: Devin (NOTE: see the next answer on how "extra turn" effects can change this.)

Q: Does a player get to play another turn if they defeat the Dr. Doom: Secrets of Time Travel Tactic and it is the final Tactic card?

A: Yes. Further, the players have already won by defeating the fourth Mastermind Tactic so any effect that would cause evil to win during the extra turn is too late: the Heroes have already won. For example, while playing a game with the Portals to the Dark Dimension a player defeats Secrets of Time Travel as the final tactic to play another turn. During that extra turn, the card drawn from the Villain Deck is the Seventh Scheme Twist, which would normally cause evil to win the game, but since this extra turn occurs after the final Mastermind Tactic is defeated the Heroes still won the
game. Source: Devin


Keywords

Charge

Q: When a villain enters the city, does that space (the Sewers) count as one of the charge spaces?

A: No, the villain enters the Sewers, then charges a number of spaces equal to their ability. Source: Jeff

Chivalrous Duel

Q: How does Chivalrous Duel work with Transformed heroes from World War Hulk (Rick Jones, for example)?

A: "Transformed" heroes should be considered to have the same Hero Name as their non-Transformed cards. For example, with Rick Jones, they are all considered “Rick Jones” so you can use the "A-Bomb / Rick Jones, Transformed" card and the "Captain Marvel / Rick Jones, Transformed" card together in a Chivalrous Duel. Source: Tyler

Cosmic Threat

Q: When I reveal cards for one Enemy’s Cosmic Threat to reduce its attack, can I use those same cards for another Enemy’s Cosmic Threat as well?

A: Yes. Revealing cards for Cosmic Threat does not use them up or otherwise prevent you from revealing the same cards for a different Enemy’s Cosmic Threat. For Example: If you have two Instinct Heroes in your hand and there are two copies of Morg in the City, you may reveal your two Instinct Heroes to activate the Cosmic Threat on each Morg individually, subtracting 6 from each of their ATTACK values. Source: Devin

Cross-Dimensional Rampage

Q: If I defeat a character with their own Rampage ability, am I immune?

A: As the Legendary rulebook says on p. 13, you put the defeated Villain into your Victory Pile, then do its Fight effect. So if you fight The Hulk Gang, you will be immune to its "Fight: Cross-Dimensional Hulk Rampage" effect, since The Hulk Gang is already in your Victory Pile. Source: Devin

Q: Does Red She-Hulk stop a Cross-Dimensional Hulk Rampage?

A: Yes, she has Hulk in her name. The Secret Wars rulesheet says "This counts any card that includes “Hulk” in its card name or Hero name..." so this includes "Red She-Hulk, the Mighty" from Fear Itself! Source: Devin

Divided Cards

Q: How are hero names handled with Divided Cards, for effects like Patriot's?

A: Divided Cards count as both Hero names while it is in your hand or HQ. Once played it only counts as the side you've played. The Rare Cloak & Dagger and Storm & Black Panther (which are not Divided Cards) count as both Heroes in your hand and after you've played them. Source: Mark

Focus

Q: If I have multiple copies of a card with a Focus ability in play does paying the Focus cost of one of those cards trigger the effect for all of them, or does paying a Focus cost just trigger the ability once no matter how many copies of that card I have in play?

A: You can play the Focus effect individually for each card you play, but you can’t pay once and trigger all of the copies of a Focus effect. For Example: If you play 3 copies of Invisible Woman: Disappearing Act, which has the ability "Focus 2 RECRUIT: You may KO a card from your hand or discard pile." Each time you pay 2 RECRUIT for this effect you only get to KO one card from your hand or discard pile, not three. Source: Devin

Patrol

Q: Can I patrol a space that doesn't exist? (Like if Galactus ate it?)

A: No. Source: Jeff

Q: Does the space have to be empty when I play the card, or can it empty out and trigger later?

A: The space must be empty when you play the card. Source: Jeff

Piercing Energy

Q: Can I defeat the Infinity Gems for free, since they have a printed VP of 0?

A: No, you cannot defeat a Gem with Piercing Energy. They are not worth any VP, and only have the symbol due to an earlier template. Source: Mark

Rise of the Living Dead

Q: If a card reenters the city as a result of an Rise of the Living Dead (RLD) effect, and it has Ambush: RLD, does it trigger? (Can this cause a chain reaction of RLD effects?)

A: Yes. The Guardians of the Galaxy rulesheet says: "When card effects like this Scheme cause Villains to enter the city at an unusual time, do the normal Ambush effects." This can indeed cause a chain reaction of Rise of the Living Dead effects! The Zombie horde returns! Source: Devin

Q: Can I rearrange or sort my Victory Pile?

A: No, you are not permitted to change the order of cards in it. When a card goes in your victory pile, it should just go on top of the pile as normal. If two or more cards go in simultaneously, such as when you Fight a Villain who has captured a Bystander, you would get to choose the order you want. But once you put them in, you can't change it or mix them up later. Source: JeffP300

Uru-Enchanted Weapons

Q: If I use a Defeat effect (like Ghost Rider - Infernal Chains) against an Adversary with Uru-Enchanted Weapon, do I reveal cards for the Uru?

A: No. The rules sheet says "When you try to fight an enemy that has some number of Uru-Enchanted Weapons, reveal that many cards..." Although Defeat will trigger Fight effects, this is not a Fight effect. Source: Jeff


Ambitions

Pure Evil

Q: Does Pure Evil count towards the 4 Ambition limit?

A: Yes, "Pure Evil" is an Ambition, so it counts as one of the 4 Ambitions you can have in play at once. Source: Devin


Heroes (General Questions)

Color of Rare Cards

Despite not having a colored border, rare heroes (the ones that have a single copy and cost 7+) do have a color. They have the same color that corresponds to their class symbol in the upper left. So Thor's rare card "God of Thunder" is a blue card, for example, because it has the blue "Ranged Hero" icon in the upper-left. Source: Devin

Multiple Versions of Heroes

You can have two of the "same" Hero in a game if there are multiple versions. (i.e. X-Force Wolverine and X-Men Wolverine could both be chosen as Heroes in a game.) Source: Brenner

Heroes (Specific Heroes)

Beast

Q: Does Upside-Down Thinking allow me to recruit the hero for free if it costs 3 or less?

A: Yes. Source: Jeff

Q: If I recruit a hero with a discount from Upside-Down Thinking, does the next hero get a discount as well?

A: No. Only the hero in the selected spot when you play the card gets the discount. Source: Jeff

Bishop

Q: If I play Bishop: Firepower from the Future to discard cards from the top of my deck and one or more of those cards has card text that says "When a card effect causes you to discard this card," does the discarded card’s effect go off?

A: Yes. You first complete Bishop’s card text completely, including the Superpower, then complete the effects of any discarded cards. You may still complete the effects of these cards even if you chose to KO them since they were discarded first before being KO’d. Source: Devin

Captain America (Base set)

Q: If I play a hero card without a border, does it have a color that counts towards Cap's abilities?

A: Yes. Despite not having a colored border, rare heroes (the ones that have a single copy and cost 7+) do have a color. They have the same color that corresponds to their class symbol in the upper left. So Thor's rare card "God of Thunder" is a blue card, for example, because it has the blue "Ranged Hero" icon in the upper-left. Source: Devin

Captain America, Secret Avenger

Q: Does "Secret Avengers Assemble" give me +2 attack if I play one of the Pet Avengers special sidekicks?

A: No, it only gives a maximum +1 per card. The word "other Avengers Hero" here means "for each Sidekick and each Avengers Hero besides those Sidekicks." Source: Devin

Colossus

Q: Can cards that allow you to do something "instead of" gaining a card such as a Wound, a Bystander, or a SHIELD Officer, still use their "instead of" ability even if the relevant stack of cards is empty?

A: Yes. For example, Colossus: Invulnerability states "If you would gain a Wound, you may discard this card instead. If you do, draw two cards." In this case, if the Wound stack were empty, a player can still play Colossus for his ability, discarding it and drawing two cards. Source: Devin

Corvus Glaive

Q: "Let None Escape You" reads "Patrol the Escape Pile: If there are Bystanders in it, you get +2 Attack." Do I get an attack bonus if there's only one Bystander there?

A: Yes, you get a bonus if there is at least one bystander in the pile. Source: Jeff

Cyclops

Q: If a card causes me to discard Unending Energy from the top of my deck, do I place it in my hand?

A: Yes, any card effect that uses the word "discard" and puts the card into your discard pile can trigger Unending Energy. For example, a card that says "Look at the top card of your deck. Put it in your hand or your discard pile" can trigger Unending Energy because it says the word "discard". If it uses the word 'discard" and puts the card in your discard pile, it counts. This includes Berserk, since the rules for the keyword include the word "discard." Even if it was never in your hand to begin with, Unending Energy still goes into your hand. Source: Devin

Domino

Errata: Lucky Break – There should be a printed RECRUIT icon behind the top "0+" on the side of the card. This is consistent with heroes that have the "Versatile" keyword. (For clarity, compare this card to the other Domino cards.) Source: Devin

Emma Frost

Errata: Diamond Form – There should be a RECRUIT icon on her card that reads "0+".

Errata: Shadowed Thoughts – Her ATTACK should read "2+" instead of "2".

Ice Man

Q: If I play Ice Man: Impenetrable Ice Wall in response to cards with effects that require me to "discard then/and draw" cards, do I still draw the cards if I prevent the discard with Ice Man’s ability?

A: Yes. For example, if you play Ice Man in response to Kingpin’s Master Strike ability, which states "Each player reveals a [MARVEL KNIGHTS] Hero or discards their hand and draws 5 cards," you prevent the discard of your hand and still draw the 5 cards. Source: Devin

Lady Thor

Q: Does the "Once per turn" on Mysterious Origin have to happen when you play the card? Is the effect limited to one time if I have multiple copies in play?

A: No to both. If you play multiples of this card, you can use each card's once per turn ability independently. The phrase "once per turn" is intended to signal that if you have 3 Mysterious Origins and no other cards, you can play all three of them to make 6 Recruit, then use the "once this turn" ability on each of them and draw three cards total. Source: Devin

Nick Fury

Errata: High Tech Weaponry – His ATTACK should read "2+" instead of "2".

Old Man Logan

Q: Can I decline the attack bonus from Loner and still recruit later?

A: Yes, you can use Loner to get its base 2 Attack, decline to get the additional Attack bonus and still recruit Heroes that turn. Source: Devin

Q: Can I get the attack bonus from Loner, then still recruit later in the turn?

A: No, you can only get the bonus if you don't recruit any Heroes that turn, both before and after you play Loner. It's kind of similar to "Healing" text on Wound cards that way. Source: Devin

Professor X

Q: If I play Professor X: Mind Control on a Killbot Villain in the Scheme Replace Earth’s Leaders with Killbots, what does the Killbot Villain become when Professor X’s ability places it into the player’s deck? What about on a Demon Queen card in the Scheme Transform Citizens into Demons?

A: A Killbot Villain becomes a grey Hero with no text and 0 ATTACK. A Demon Queen becomes a grey Hero with no text and ATTACK equal to the ATTACK literally printed on the Jean Grey card. Source: Devin

Punisher

Q: When I play Hail of Bullets, do I make any adjustments for "printed" VP on cards? What if the number isn't there?

A: When a card effect checks for a "printed" statistic, it always means that it looks for statistics literally printed on the card, not any other statistics a card may have gained from Scheme or other game instructions. Example 1: Punisher: Hail of Bullets states "Reveal the top card of the Villain Deck. If It’s a Villain, you get +ATTACK equal to its printed VP." If you are playing the Scheme Replace Earth’s Leaders with Killbots, and reveal a "Killbot Villain" while resolving Punisher’s card effect, Punisher gets +1 ATTACK, since a Bystander card has "1VP" printed on it. Example 2: If you are playing the Scheme Transform Citizens into Demons and reveal a "Demon Queen" while resolving Punisher’s card effect, Punisher gets +0 ATTACK, since a Jean Grey card does not have a VP value printed on it. Source: Devin

Rogue

Q: Does Rogue: Copy Powers keep the X-Men Affiliation when it copies another card, or does it simply gain the new Team Affiliation and lose the X-Men Affiliation while it is in play as the copy?

A: She becomes a copy of the card in every way, including the new Affiliation, except that she retains the COVERT icon. This means that unless she copied another X-Men card, she would no longer be an X-Men card for things such as Superpowers, being able to defeat The Blob, or for defending against Magneto’s Master Strike, but would be whatever the new affiliation is for similar effects and Superpowers. Source: Devin

Q: If Rogue: Copy Powers copies a non-red card, does it count as a multi-colored card?

A: Yes. The card reads: "Play this card as a copy of another Hero you played this turn. This card is both COVERT and the color you copy."

So if you copy a non-red card, then Copy Powers indeed becomes a dual-colored card. This allows it count for multiple colors with Captain America, Black Panther, and Spectrum abilities. Source: Devin

Scarlet Spider

Q: If I reveal a card from the top of my deck, then "put it back," does that trigger drawing it, via Sting of the Spider?

A: If the card effect specifically uses the words "Put that card on top" or "Put that card back", then yes. If the effect only says to reveal the top card of your deck and you implicitly put it back because it doesn't specify another destination, then no. Source: Devin

Soulsword Colossus

Q: If playing with the scheme "The Fountain of Eternal Life," do the bystanders gain Fateful Resurrection?

A: Yes. And if they do resurrect, they will enter the city as a villain with 3 attack and the KO ability granted by Colossus. Source: Devin

Spider-Man

Q: Does "The Amazing Spider-Man" count as drawing cards?

A: No. "Put a card in your hand" is not the same as "Draw a card" for cards that ask if you have drawn cards. Source: Devin

Thanos

Q: If you "rescue" a special Bystander from another player with Galactic Domination, do you resolve its special effect?

A: Yes, Special Bystanders say "When you rescue this Bystander, [DO SOMETHING]", so Thanos: Galactic Domination "rescuing" them would trigger those rescue effects. Source: Devin

Q: With the Transdimensional Overlord card in Thanos's deck, can you use the ability multiple times and KO multiple bystanders to gain attack? It doesn't say "once per turn".

A: No, a card that says "You may do [SOMETHING]. If you do, then [DO SOMETHING ELSE]." can only be used once when you play it. Source: Devin

Thor

Q: If I play Thor: God of Thunder, can I use some of my RECRUIT Points for ATTACK and some for RECRUIT, or must I choose one or the other?

A: You may split up your RECRUIT Points however you wish between RECRUIT and ATTACK. Source: Devin


Masterminds

Deathbird

Q: When Deathbird's tactics enter the city as villains, do they count as Sh'iar villains and increase her attack?

A: Yes. They have "Sh'iar" in their names, and every villain or villain group with Sh'iar in their name will increase her power. Source: Devin

Q: Do I have to defeat Deathbird's tactics once they are in the city, in order to defeat her?

A: No, once they are in the city, they are villains and no longer tactics. You only need to defeat the face-down tactics in order to win the game. Source: Devin

Dr. Doom

Q: Does a player get to play another turn if they defeat the Dr. Doom: Secrets of Time Travel Tactic and it is the final Tactic card?

A: Yes. Further, the players have already won by defeating the fourth Mastermind Tactic so any effect that would cause evil to win during the extra turn is too late: the Heroes have already won. For example, while playing a game with the Portals to the Dark Dimension a player defeats Secrets of Time Travel as the final tactic to play another turn. During that extra turn, the card drawn from the Villain Deck is the Seventh Scheme Twist, which would normally cause evil to win the game, but since this extra turn occurs after the final Mastermind Tactic is defeated the Heroes still won the
game. Source: Devin

King Hyperion

Q: When in the city, is he a Villain?

A: No, he is still a Mastermind and card effects that work on Villains won't work on him. Source: Jeff

Q: When he escapes the city, do you still follow the normal escape procedure for an enemy?

A: Yes. KO a hero of cost 6 or less from the HQ and discard a card if he has a bystander, in addition to following his Escape ability text. Source: Jeff

Q: If he's already in the city and I pull a Strike, does he charge again?

A: Yes, he can't enter the city but he will still charge three spaces. Source: Jeff

Madelyne Pryor, Goblin Queen

Q: If I fight Madeline with Piercing Energy, do I leave the goblins in place, since they're "Demon Goblins" and not bystanders?

A: Yes, leave them with their queen. Source: Devin

Magneto

Q: Magneto: Electromagnetic Bubble says "Fight: Choose one of your X-Men Heroes. When you draw a new hand of cards at the end of this turn, add that Hero to your hand as a seventh card." If a card effect or rules variant changes your base card draw at the end of the turn, do you still add that card to your hand if the card wouldn’t be your "seventh card?"

A: Yes. It should really just say "add that Hero to your hand as an extra card." Source: Devin

Pagliacci

Q: What happens when a scheme specifies what to do for some amount of numbered twists, and Pagliacci takes me past that? For example, a scheme says use 8 twists, then do XYZ on Twist 8 (but not Evil Wins), and Pagliacci creates Twist number 9?

A: Do as much as you can based on the scheme. There may be some default effect that always happens, so do that, but don't repeat an effect from the previous twist.Source: Devin


Schemes

Change the Outcome of WWII

Q: Do the city locations in other countries still have the same names?

A: Yes, you'll still start each country with the Sewers, and continue as far as you need to. Source: Jeff

Q: Where is the 6th city space for the USSR?

A: The 6th city space is unnamed, and exists to the left of the Bridge, so Villains would advance from the Bridge to the 6th space, and from that location they would advance and escape. Source: Jeff

Q: Can a country be conquered more than once?

A: No, any villains that escape after the first in a country aren't counted as an extra conquer. (You'll just continue to do the normal Escape effects.) Once a country is conquered, you still remain in that country until the next Scheme Twist. Source: Jeff

Crown Thor King of Asgard

Q: If I'm including the Manhattan Villain group in the Villain deck, which includes a version of Thor but not the one I set aside during setup, does Manhattan Thor escape on a Twist?

A: No, just use the Thor you set desiginated during setup, unless you want the game to be a lot harder. Source: Jeff

Crush Them With My Bare Hands

Q: With Advanced Solo rules, do the Scheme Twists resolve such that it requires a card be moved from the HQ to the bottom of the Hero deck?

A: Yes, a Scheme Twist has resolved, so in Advanced Solo you would move a Hero that costs 6 or less from the HQ to the bottom of the Hero Deck. Source: Devin

Q: With Advanced Solo rules, does the Scheme Twist resolve such that another card is played as per the playing a Master Strike rule?

A: Yes, a Master Strike has also resolved, so in Advanced Solo Mode, you would play another card from the Villain Deck. This means a lot of extra Villain Deck card gets played, which is why the Scheme says to add another Villain Group in Solo Mode. Source: Devin

Dark Alliance

Q: If using Final Showdown, does the second Mastermind require a fifth hit to be defeated as well?

A: No, you would only use the Final Showdown when the final Mastermind in the game is defeated (whether it's the original Mastermind or second one). If the final Mastermind in the game who is defeated is a Villain who ascended into becoming a Mastermind, then you wouldn't use the Final Showdown, because someone has already claimed that ascended Mastermind card into their Victory Pile, and there is no additional "face card" for that Mastermind to have a Showdown over. Source: Devin

The Dark Phoenix Saga

Q: The scheme says to include Jean Grey in the villain deck, but she's in Dark City. Do I need to own Dark City to play this?

A: No, you can use any version of Jean Grey, so you could also choose to use Phoenix (from the same X-men expansion) or Time-Traveling Jean Grey (from Secret Wars vol 2). Source: Devin

Find the Split Personality Killer

Q: When a twist happens, are the new cards placed on top of the stack before or after shuffling?

A: Every time a Twist happens, the 3 Bystanders and 1 Hero should be shuffled into the existing Murder Suspects deck, shuffling the whole Murder Suspects deck together. Source: Mark

Fragmented Realities

Q: If the city doesn't exist, what about specific spaces?

A: No, specific city spaces (bank, bridge, etc.) do not exist. You can't patrol those spaces, villains don't get bonuses from being in a specific space, etc. Source: Jeff

Q: What happens when I use Galactus with this Scheme? What does he eat?

A: Just don't. (General consensus.)

Master of Tyrants

Q: Do I still add Villains to the Villain deck as normal?

A: Yes, the deck contains normal villains as well as Tyrants. Source: JeffP300

Q: If one of the Tyrants has an ability that reduces or otherwise effects their attack, do they lose that ability?

A: Yes, the Tyrant Villains in this scheme use their printed Attack and no abilities. So, for example, Kingpin loses Bribe, Galactus loses Cosmic Threat, and Thanos isn't reduced by Infinity Gems you control. These are especially difficult Tyrants to beat! Source: Devin

Q: Do the Tyrants count as Villains or Masterminds?

A: The scheme says the count as "Tyrant Villains" so they are vulnerable to any effect that affects Villains. Source: JeffP300

Pan-Dimensional Plague

Q: If a hero leaves the HQ for some other reason, what happens to the Wounds?

A: When playing the Pan-Dimensional Scheme, if card effects (like Apocalyptic Kitty Pryde: Infiltrate the HQ) cause Heroes to leave the HQ, Wounds next to the HQ due to the Scheme just stay where they are. Source: Devin

Portals to the Dark Dimension

Q: In the Scheme Portals to the Dark Dimension, for Schemes 2-6 it says to "Put the Dark Portal in the leftmost city space that doesn’t yet have a Dark Portal." What do I do if some city spaces have been destroyed by Galactus’ Master Strike?

A: The city spaces affected by Galactus’ Master Strike no longer exist, so you place the Dark Portal in the leftmost city space that has not been destroyed by Galactus. If all non-destroyed city spaces already have a Dark Portal on them, then place any Scheme Twists that occur in the KO pile. The Evil Wins condition for Portals to the Dark Dimension does not change, and still occurs when the seventh Scheme Twist occurs. Source: Devin

Pull Reality into the Negative Zone

Q: When playing the Scheme Pull Reality into the Negative Zone, when Twists 2, 4, and 6 are in effect do Focus abilities cost ATTACK instead of RECRUIT, or does the Scheme only affect actual purchases from HQ and fights against enemies?
A: The Scheme’s effects only affect purchasing Heroes and fighting Enemies. Focus effects still cost RECRUIT to use as normal. Source: Devin

Replace Earth’s Leaders with Killbots

Q: In the Scheme Replace Earth’s Leaders with Killbots, once the Killbots are in your Victory pile do they count as Bystanders, Killbot Villains, or both?

A: They count as Bystanders once they are in your Victory Pile, but are Killbot Villains in all other locations and at all other times. Source: Devin

Q: In the Scheme Replace Earth’s Leaders with Killbots, if you defeat one of the "Unique Bystanders" from the Dark City expansion, are they considered destroyed or rescued for the purpose of setting off their special abilities?

A: The Killbots are destroyed, never rescued, but still become Bystanders again once they are in your Victory Pile. Source: Devin

Reveal Heroes' Secret Identities

Q: What counts as a hero?

A: Each hero deck used in the setup of the hero deck counts as a unique hero. So Wolverine (X-Men) and Wolverine (X-Force) should be counted as distinct heroes. Source: Mark

Secret Invasion of the Skrull Shapeshifters

Q: Do hero Skrulls get attack bonuses from their card text?

A: No, when you add a Hero card to the City space as a Skrull Villain, you only use the card’s COST, ignoring any card text on the Hero Card. For example, Gambit: High Stakes Jackpot has 4+ ATTACK and states that you "Reveal the top card of your deck. You get +ATTACK equal to that card’s COST." You ignore this card’s text and printed ATTACK while it is a Skrull Villain, and it simply has 9 ATTACK (7 COST + 2 ATTACK) because of the Secret Invasion card text. Source: Devin

Q: The scheme setup states to select 12 random heroes and to shuffle them into the villain deck. Do these 12 heroes come from the hero deck, or the heroes not used in the current game?

A: The heroes come from the hero deck. Source: Mark

Shoot Hulk Into Space

Q: When making the Hulk deck with a hero that has additional transformed cards, which 14 cards do I use?

A: Use the original 14 cards that would go into the hero deck. Set the transformed cards aside, and you may transform into them as normal. Source: Devin

Smash Two Dimensions Together

Q: Do the three "other dimension" spaces also count as being Rooftops, Streets, and Bridge?

A: No, the parallel dimension city spaces aren't Bridge, Streets, etc., since they don't say those things on them. Source: Devin

Q: If using the Villains city layout, does the Scheme cancel out the Bridge and Streets instead?

A: No, the Scheme says "The Sewers and Bank do not exist," so that also holds true on a Villains board. Source: Devin

Q: If I draw a Bystander, can I send it to the Mastermind if one of the cities is empty?

A: Yes, you can choose to send the Bystander to city with no Villains in it, and the Mastermind will capture it. Source: Devin

Symbiotic Absorption

Q: When the twists copy the Master Strike abilities, do you play an extra card in Advanced Solo?

A: No, you just copy the text. Otherwise, treat it as any other twist. Source: Tyler

X-Cutioner’s Song

Q: If I am playing the X-Cutioner’s Song Scheme and there is a Villain that captures heroes in the City when the Scheme Twist effect, which states to "KO all heroes captured by enemies…," occurs, what happens to that Villain’s statistics that were affected by the captured hero?

A: The statistics revert to the printed values on the card. Any bonuses gained that were dependent upon the KO’d Hero are lost. For example, if Dracula (ATTACK=3+), who states "Ambush: Dracula captures the top card of the Hero Deck. Dracula gets +ATTACK equal to that card’s COST," is in the city, and he has captured Black Widow: Dangerous Rescue (COST=3), his attack is 6. Once the Scheme Twist effect of X-Cutioner’s Song occurs, Black Widow is KO’d and Dracula reverts to his printed ATTACK of 3+. Note: Dracula’s captured Hero bonus per his Ambush text only occurs when he is first played from the Villain Deck. If he captures a Hero by any other means it is not via his Ambush effect so he does not gain the Ambush’s attack bonus. Source: Devin


Villains (General Questions)

Ambush vs Escape Effect Timing

Q: What effect happens first: Ambush or Escape?

A: This is clarified in the Villains rulebook, and applies to the base game as well:
Remember: if a Villain escaped when this new Villain appeared, handle all the Escape effects for the overrunning Villain before handling any Ambush effect for the new Villain. (Source: Villains rules, p. 9; "Villain" and "Adversary" are equivalent terms.)

Henchmen Count as Villains

Q: Are Henchmen cards Villains?

A: Yes. They all say "Henchmen Villain" underneath their card title. Source: Devin

Villains That Escape to Become Other Things

Q: If a villain like Mystique (who becomes a Twist) or Reignfire (who becomes a Master Strike) escapes, does it go to the "Escaped Villains" pile or is it placed solely as that card?

A: It never goes to the Escaped Villains pile. As soon as it escapes, after resolving any other escape effects (KOing a Hero from HQ, discarding a card if it had a Bystander), it becomes the other card in every way, and it goes wherever the Scheme instructs you to place those cards. (The default location is the KO Pile in the absence of such instructions.) Source 1: Brenner / Source 2: Devin

Specific Villains

Animatronic Killer Clowns

Q: The trap card says the clown has 3 attack, but the Token clown has a printed attack of 4. Which is it?

A: Use the stats on the trap (3 attack), but you can use the token if you feel like bumping up the difficulty. Source: Mark

Blind Al and Deuce

Q: Every card has a copyright date on it. Can I count the 2 in the year?

A: No, the copyright text doesn't count. Source: Mark/Upper Deck Preview Article

Chimera

Q: If Chimera is drawn from the Villain Deck while fighting against the Scheme Replace Earth’s Leaders with Killbots, does her Ambush ability, which states "Reveal the top three cards of the Villain Deck, Chimera captures all the Bystander cards you revealed," count the Killbot Villains as Bystander "cards"?

A: No. The Bystanders are considered Killbot Villain cards while in the Villain Deck, not Bystander cards, so Chimera’s Ambush ability does not affect Killbot Villains. Source: Devin

Dr. Octopus

Q: If I defeat two copies of Dr. Octopus in one turn, do I still only draw up to 8 cards? Also, if I get to draw extra cards at the end of my turn from other card effects, do I still get to draw those extra cards after drawing up to 8 cards for Dr. Octopus?

A: Yes, Dr. Octopus essentially changes your standard card draw at the end of that turn from whatever it is supposed to be (6 normally, but 5 for the Gimpy Hand variant) to 8. Any other effects that allow you to draw extra cards allow you to draw those extra cards after drawing up to your hand size (on turns where you defeat one or more Dr. Octopus, this is 8). Source: Devin

Infinity Gems

Q: Can I use Piercing Energy to defeat the Infinity Gems for free, since they have a printed VP of 0?

A: No, you cannot defeat a Gem with Piercing Energy. They are not worth any VP, and only have the symbol due to an earlier template. Source: Mark

Lt. Gen “Thunderbolt” Ross

Q: How should the "Ambush" effect on Lt. Gen “Thunderbolt” Ross (Gamma Hunters Villain Group, MCU Phase 1 Core Set) be interpreted?

A: All players reveal the cards in their hands. Only the players with one or more Strength cards in their hand must then choose between discarding a Strength card or instead gaining a Wound. Source: Tyler

Mystique

Q: If Mystique escapes, does she go to the "Escaped Villains" pile or is she placed solely as a Scheme Twist?

A: She never goes to the Escaped Villains pile. As soon as she escapes, and after resolving any other escape effects (KOing a Hero from HQ, discarding a card if she had a Bystander) she becomes a Scheme Twist card in every way, and goes wherever the Scheme instructs you to place Scheme Twists (default is the KO Pile). Source 1: Brenner / Source 2: Devin

Q: If Mystique becomes a Scheme Twist during the Scheme Steal the Weaponized Plutonium and is subsequently shuffled back into the Villain deck, does she become a Scheme Twist when revealed from the Villain Deck going forward, or does she revert back to a Villain?

A: Cards do not have memory that would allow Mystique to remain as a Scheme Twist while in the Villain deck, so she reverts back to a Villain card until such time as she escapes again. Source: Devin

Reignfire

Q: If Reignfire escapes, does he go to the "Escaped Villains" pile or is he placed solely as a Master Strike?

A: He never goes to the Escaped Villains pile. As soon as he escapes, and after resolving any other escape effects (KOing a Hero from HQ, discarding a card if he had a Bystander) he becomes a Master Strike card in every way, and goes wherever the Scheme instructs you to place Master Strikes (default is the KO Pile). Source: Devin

Vertigo

Errata: Text box is a "Fight" effect, and should read: "Fight: Each player discards their hand then draws as many cards as they discarded." Source: Brenner

Wolverine of Future Past

Q: If playing a solo game, does defeating Wolverine let me draw both cards?

A: Yes, you draw one because it refers specifically to you, and another because you're the next player. Source: Devin


[What Links Here]
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.