Article Edit | History | Editors

Lords of Waterdeep FAQ RSS Feed

This is a list of the frequently asked questions for Lords of Waterdeep.

List of game FAQs

Table of Contents

Lords of Waterdeep

Some of the following can be found in the official FAQ, and are simply copy-pasted, while some others are a bit changed for better understanding. Some are remarks that the game designers did in BGG forums themselves, and some others are additional stuff that needed to be mentioned.

Q: For the intrigue card "Sample Wares", what does "unused agent" mean? Does this mean an agent from your agent pool, or do you reassign the agent you just played?
A: It refers to one of your unused agents from your agent pool.

Q: One player plays "Sample Wares" and assigns an agent to a building in "Builder's Hall". I have completed the "Recover the Magister's Orb" plot quest, can I use its benefit to assign an agent to the same building in "Builder's Hall" as my opponent did with "Sample Wares"?
A: Yes. "Recover the Magister's Orb" allows you to assign an agent to a space containing an opponent's agent, which trumps the normal rule about assigning agents to buildings in play, as well as assigning agents to spaces containing an opponent's agents. Also, no player actually owns the used building, so noone gets the owner benefit.

Q: What happens if you use the "Sample Wares" intrigue card on a "When purchased/start of round..." building?
A: You get nothing, that's because - see Note 1 below.
Caution: "The Waymoot" is an exception to this rule, if this building has accumulated VP tokens by simply staying unbought in "Builder's Hall" throughout the game, using "Sample Wares" does give you those VP's, plus 1 face-up quest. Just follow the directions of the building literally.

Q: With buildings that accumulate resources, such as "Caravan Court", are resources placed on them while they are unbuilt (still in "Builder's Hall")?
A: No.
Note 1: Those buildings do not have resources placed on them until they are in play.

Q: What do you do if you run out of places to play (an agent to)? Must you pass?
A: The round ends in the case that no one can legally assign an agent. If one person cannot legally assign an agent, he/she must pass.

Q: What if an agent is placed in "Builder's Hall" and the player doesn't have money to buy a building (or doesn't want to buy a building)? Can the agent be placed there, or is the space banned from being played on if the cost can't be paid? What if it is the last place left to play an agent to?
A: You must be able to perform all parts of an action to take that action. That means paying the cost of a building, or returning two adventurers for "The Three Pearls", etc. So, no, you can't just block "Builder's Hall".

Q: Can you assign an agent to a space if you cannot take the action (for example, assigning an agent to "Waterdeep Harbor" to block it, even though you have no intrigue cards)?
A: No. You must be able to complete all instructions for the space you are choosing in order to take that action.

Q: What happens if there are no legal spaces for any player to assign an agent to?
A: The round ends immediately.

Q: Does the ambassador stay on the space it was assigned to if no one assigns an agent to "Palace of Waterdeep"?
A: No. At the end of the round, if no one has assigned an agent to "Palace of Waterdeep" and claimed the ambassador, the ambassador is removed from the board.

Q: The ambassador's rules say it is treated as an opponent's agent. Do I get the benefit of the space (not the owner benefit) I assign it to?
A: Yes. It is treated as an opponent's agent once it is on the board. When you assign any agent (including the ambassador or the lieutenant), you always gain the benefit of the space. In other words, the ambassador belongs to you before assigning him anywhere, but he counts as an opponent's agent for all players after he's assigned. So, you can't return the ambassador to your agent pool (by completing the "Research Chronomancy" quest or by playing the "Recall Agent" intrigue card), because he doesn't belong to you anymore. But, you can use "The Zoarstar" building, the "Bribe Agent" intrigue card, or the "Recover the Magister's Orb" plot quest to use the space that is occupied by the ambassador (as he is an opponent's agent now).

Q: If I complete the "Recruit Lieutenant" quest as a result of reassigning an agent from "Waterdeep Harbor", do I get to assign that agent immediately?
A: Yes. If any effect puts a new agent into your pool during reassignment from "Waterdeep Harbor", you assign that agent immediately. However, you can't assign him to "Waterdeep Harbor" (he follows the same rule as the "Research Chronomancy" quest, a returned/new agent can't be assigned to "Waterdeep Harbor" during the reassignment phase of the round).

Rule Clarification
If you use "The Zoarstar" building or the "Bribe Agent" intrigue card on an opponent's building, that opponent gains the owner benefit, exactly as though you had assigned an agent to that building. If the building has a cost in order to use it ("House of Wonder", "Smuggler's Dock" or "The Three Pearls"), you'll have to pay it. If you use any of these on an opponent's agent who is placed in "Builder's Hall", you have to pay for the gold cost of the building you want to buy, as well.

Q: The "Bribe Agent" intrigue card instructs me to pay 2 gold coins, do I simply return these coins to the supply?
A: Yes.

Rule Clarification
The "Bribe Agent" intrigue card works exactly the same as "The Zoarstar" building. The card allows you to use the action provided by the space, while not actually placing an agent there. If you use any of these on an opponent's agent who is placed in "Waterdeep Harbor" you will be able to use an intrigue card, but you won't be able to reassign a physically-nonexistent agent. The reassignment is an event that is separate from the action. Reassignment only applies to agents that are actually present (physically) in "Waterdeep Harbor" in that phase of the round.

Q: When I use "The Zoarstar" to take a "Waterdeep Harbor" action, do I also get to reassign the agent from "The Zoarstar" at the end of the round?
A: No. The text in the appendix of the rulebook is in error.

Rule Clarification
If someone assigns an agent to "Castle Waterdeep" and takes the first player marker, another player may use the "Bribe Agent" intrigue card, "The Zoarstar" building, or assign a second agent to "Castle Waterdeep" with the help of the "Recover the Magister's Orb" plot quest, then that player "steals" the first player marker for himself/herself.

Q: Let's say I assign an agent to a building, then another player assigns a second agent to the same building with the help of the "Recover the Magister's Orb" plot quest. Can I use the "Bribe Agent" intrigue card or "The Zoarstar" building to assign one additional agent of mine to that building?
A: Yes, you can. As long as the building (action space) contains an opponent's agent, it is doable.

Q: Can more than 10 buildings be in play?
A: Yes. The number of empty building spaces on the board is no limit to the number of buildings that can be in play during the game. Some quests, and or intrigue cards, may allow you to build buildings. There is also quest, that allows you to take an occupied spot, so two players could go to Builder's Hall.

Q: Can you control more buildings than the number of control markers you have?
A: No. The number of control markers you have is the maximum number of buildings you can have in a single game.

Q: Some buildings have a "/" on their description, what does it mean?
A: It means "or", so you can get any combination of the alleged adventurers.

Q: Does "The Stone House" building count itself as a building tile?
A: Yes, it does.

Q: Does an effect that places a building, or puts a building into play count as buying/purchasing the building?
A: No. You count as having bought a building only if you assign an agent to "Builder's Hall" and pay the gold cost of the building. Putting a building into play by other means (such as by completing the "Lure Artisans of Mirabar" quest) does not count as buying the building. However, if you put a building into play under your control from "Builder's Hall" and that building has any VP tokens on it, you gain those VP's regardless of whether you bought it or simply put it in play.

Rule Clarification
The "Real Estate Deal" intrigue card is the only card in the game that allows a player to discard (remove from the board) a building.

Q: When I assign an agent to "Heroes' Garden", do I still return resources to the supply when completing the chosen quest?
A: Yes. "Heroes' Garden" simply gives you an opportunity to complete the quest, if you have all the required resources. Completing this quest does not count toward your limit of completing one quest each time you assign an agent, so you could potentially complete a second quest after assigning an agent to "Heroes' Garden". You can use this building just for taking 1 face-up quest, even if you can't complete it immediately. However, if you complete that quest later on, you won't score those additional 4 VP's.

Q: With regard to the "Produce a Miracle for the Masses" quest, how many adventurers can I convert to clerics each time I gain the benefit of the plot quest?
A: One. The plot quest benefit states that once per round when you take an action that provides you with any number of clerics, you can convert a single adventurer in your tavern (a fighter, a rogue, or a wizard) into a cleric.

Rule Clarification
The "Accelerate Plans" intrigue card is useful only if you have an unused agent in your agent pool in addition to the one you remove from "Waterdeep Harbor". It's a card you should play early in the round. You can assign these 2 agents anywhere you like, even to "Waterdeep Harbor".

Q: Does the "Change of Plans" intrigue card refer to all players for being able to discard a mandatory quest?
A: Yes. All the players can discard a mandatory quest, not just the player that plays the card.

Q: Are my active quests always face up?
A: Yes. Additionally, each time you take a quest, you must place it face up with your other active quests.

Rule Clarification
There's no limit on how many active/completed/plot quests a player may have, and the same occurs with the intrigue cards - there's no hand limit.

Q: Some quests instruct you to "take quest from Cliffwatch Inn" as a reward, while some buildings instruct you to "take 1 face-up quest" when you use them. Do they mean the same thing?
A: Yes. You take 1 face-up quest from "Cliffwatch Inn".

Rule Clarification
After assigning an agent to "Cliffwatch Inn" and acquiring a quest, you can immediately complete that quest, if you have the required resources.

Q: When you move (reassign) an agent out of "Waterdeep Harbor" to another building, are you taking another turn? Can you complete a quest?
A: You can complete a quest after moving (reassigning) an agent out of "Waterdeep Harbor" - it is another turn.

Rule Clarification
"Whenever you complete an X quest, you score 2 VP's":
1) These plot quest cards don't count themselves, so you don't score the additional VP's just for completing the quest itself.
2) The ability of this card begins to work after you have it completed. If you had completed X quests before completing this plot quest, you don't score the additional VP's for those quests.
3) You count these additional VP's immediately after completing an X quest, not at the final scoring.

Rule Clarification
If you complete the "Prison Break" quest, you have to be able to play an intrigue card. If you don't have an intrigue card to play, then you can't complete the quest. If you play that intrigue card while having the "Place a Sleeper Agent in Skullport" plot quest completed, you score 2 additional VP's.

Rule Clarification
"Whenever you take an action that provides X, also take Y...":
What does "taking an action" mean? When do I get Y by getting X?
First of all, you take an action when:
1) you assign an agent
2) you complete a quest
Now, you deserve to get Y when:
1) you assign an agent to any building that gives you X
2) you assign an agent to "Waterdeep Harbor", and then you play an intrigue card that gives you X
Caution: You don't get Y by completing quests that reward you with X. That's because - see Note 2 below.
Caution: If you complete the "Prison Break" quest and then play an intrigue card that gives you X, you don't get Y. That's because (it's written on the card) you play the intrigue card without taking an action.
Lastly, you don't deserve to get Y even if you got X when:
1) you get X from an opponent's played intrigue card
2) you get X when an opponent used a building you own
That's because you never took an action youself, but your opponent did.
Caution: If you get X through a plot quest's ability, for example "Defend the Tower of Luck", you don't get Y. That's because - see Note 2 below.

Q: If a plot quest gives me resources for having taken an action, did I gain those resources as a part of taking the action?
A: No. You gained the extra resources from the effect of the plot quest, not from the action itself.
Note 2: The benefits of plot quests, and the rewards for completing a quest, never count as being a part of an action.

Q: Does playing an intrigue card to gain resources count as taking an action to gain that resource (such as with the "Call for Adventurers")?
A: Yes. When you assign an agent to "Waterdeep Harbor", that action includes playing the intrigue card and its effects. Therefore, when you gain resources from an intrigue card you play, you have taken an action to receive those resources. However, if you receive resources from another player's intrigue card (for example, if someone else played the "Call for Adventurers"), you have not taken an action to gain those resources.

[What Links Here]