Article Edit | History | Editors

Monopoly Mega rules clarifications RSS Feed


These are rules clarifications for Monopoly: The Mega Edition. Its short rulebook gets you playing quickly, but is not a good reference for the various contingencies that come up in the game.

Note: When adding clarifications, please cite your source.


Being sent to jail is preemptive, and always ends your turn.

  • When rolling to "escape" jail, you only roll the 2 white dice - not the special die - unless you pay to get out first. (2)
  • If you roll the dice and roll a Bus icon on the speed die, but end up in jail from the white dice (either landing on the GO TO JAIL space, drawing a card or a third set of doubles), do you still get a Bus Ticket, or does your turn end before you get to draw one? NO BUS TICKET - TURN ENDS AS SOON AS YOU GO IN JAIL (1)

The Three Dice

Rolling Triples

Rolling Triples (1-1-1, 2-2-2, or 3-3-3):

  • You can move ahead to anywhere on the board. Triples do not count as doubles, and therefore will not send you to jail after two doubles. You do not roll again to move after triples. (3) [Please note that this is a change in the official rules.] (*)
  • Also, if you roll triples, you "move ahead" to whatever space you choose, which means that if you choose to go to a space that is past go, you get $200.

Rolling Doubles

As in Monopoly, rolling Doubles three times on a turn still sends you immediately to jail. Remember that Triples do not count as doubles. [Originally, triples counted as doubles; this was officially changed.]

  • Rolling Doubles on the White Dice and a different number on the third die would let you move the total number on the dice, encounter the space, and then roll all three dice again. (2)
  • Rolling Doubles on the White Dice and Mr. Monopoly on the third die would let you move the total number on the dice, and encounter the space. Then you would move according to the appropriate Mr. Monopoly rule, and encounter that space. Then roll all three dice again. (2)
  • Rolling Doubles on the White Dice and a bus on the third die would let you move the total number on the dice and then take a bus ticket (2) if you aren't now in jail.

The Bus

  • The rules state that when you roll the Bus Icon, you can take a bus ticket or move "ahead to the nearest Chance or Community Chest space". Do you get to pick which space you move to (i.e.: the nearest Chance space or the nearest Community Chest space). MOVE TO THE NEXT IMMEDIATE CHANCE/COMMUNITY CHEST SPACE. CHANCE AND COMMUNITY CHEST ARE TREATED AS THE SAME THING IN THIS CASE. (1)

Bus Tickets

  • Bus tickets which void other bus tickets that players hold must be announced right away and this part must be carried out, regardless of whether or not you decide to save or use the ticket right away. All Bus tickets should be revealed as collected and kept face up to verify. (2)
  • If you roll the bus on the third die, you move according to the white dice first. If it's your third doubles on the white dice, you go to jail and end your turn immediately. i.e. No bus ticket for you! Otherwise, you then take a bus ticket, if any remain. (1)(2)
  • If you use a bus ticket to advance to GO, you collect $200. (2)
  • Can you buy/sell/trade Bus Tickets with other players? YES (1)
  • Can bus tickets be used to move to the "GO TO JAIL" space (thus putting a player in jail?) ABSOLUTELY. THIS CAN BE A GOOD STRATEGIC PLAY. (1)

Mr. Monopoly

  • If you roll Mr. Monopoly on the third die, you move according to the white dice and encounter the space. You then move again according to the appropriate Mr. Monopoly rule. (2)
    • If you roll doubles, you move according to the white dice and encounter the space, then you move according to the appropriate Mr. Monopoly rule as well. Then you roll all three dice again and move. (2)
    • If you roll doubles a third time, you go straight to jail as usual, and ignore Mr. Monopoly if rolled in that instance. (2)
  • If the Mr. Monopoly die advances you past GO, you collect $200. (2)

Property Improvements

  • If you have one less than all of the deeds of one color, then you have majority ownership and are entitled to double rents. Owning all the deeds of one color gives you a monopoly and you are entitled to triple rents. Even if some of your nearly-full or full set is mortgaged, the operational unimproved properties still give you 2×/3× rent. Don't forget that you can't mortgage from a color group until you've sold all the improvements from it. (2)
  • Acquiring a final title deed to complete a monopoly of a color, in which you already have improvements on the other properties, requires you to immediately build equal to (or one step above or below, per the "even building" rule) all the other properties on that color. If you cannot, then you must distribute houses equally, or hotels equally, or however low you must go. This might require you to sell a skyscraper (and get half price for it) in order to get a hotel, or to sell a hotel (and get half price for it) in order to get houses. (2)
    • If I choose not to build the newly acquired property up, do I have to "sell" my other houses back to the bank (at half price) before re-building them on the new property, or can I just move my houses freely from property to property? YOU DO NOT HAVE TO TAKE DOWN ANY HOUSES TO MAKE IT EVEN. SINCE YOU ACQUIRED THE 4TH PROPERTY LATER AFTER THE HOUSES WERE BUILT, YOU'RE FINE AS IS. HOWEVER, YOU COULD NOT BUILD FURTHER ON THE EXISTING PROPERTIES UNTIL THE NEW 4TH ONE IS EQUAL. (1)
    • Situation: I own three of the green property and have three houses built on each. I obtain the fourth from another player (with no houses on it, of course). I must then build this property up evenly - or deconstruct my other properties down to match. Does this happen before or after the player currently moving finishes his/her turn? I.e.: Player lands on North Carolina Avenue and can't afford the rent with their liquid cash. So, instead of mortgaging or selling houses/hotels, they trade me Pennsylvania Avenue for the cost of the rent. Ideally, it's possible that the player could end up on Pennsylvania Avenue before their turn is up (either through a Rich Uncle Pennybags roll or if they rolled doubles on their last turn and roll double ones this time around) - so do I build up PA before they finish their turn, thus making them pay the extra rent, or do I wait until their turn is over only getting the "triple rent" for the property? YOU CAN'T BUILD UP ANY PROPERTY DURING ANOTHER PLAYER'S TURN. (1)
  • You may sell a skyscraper back to the bank for half of its value and revert it to a hotel, provided there is a hotel available. If not, it has to revert to houses, if they're available. In any case, you have to tear down the other developments to match the "even-building" rule. So, if you have skyscrapers on Florida, Park Place, and Boardwalk, and need to sell one of them, you're fine. If you have to sell one, but there are no hotels left (but plenty of houses), then you'll have to reduce the others to hotels - but there weren't any, so they'll have to come down to houses. As always, you get back half what you paid for the improvements you're forced to sell back. (2)
  • Repairs: You pay the same for each skyscraper as you do for a hotel when you have the improvement card. (2)
    • When a player draws the Chance card that requires the player to "make general repairs," the player pays $100 for each Skyscraper owned, and $25 for each depot. (1)(2)
    • When a player draws the Community Chest card where the player is "assessed for street repairs," the player pays $115 for each Skyscraper owned, and $25 for each depot. (2)
  • You pay 4× the initial value of the railroad rent if you are forced to go to the nearest railroad via the chance card if it has a depot on it. In other words, the doublings are cumulative. (2)


  • Do you roll the dice anew to determine your utility bill, or do you pay based on what was already rolled? As in Monopoly, "DON'T ROLL AGAIN - YOU PAY BASED ON WHAT YOU ALREADY ROLLED. IF A CARD SENT YOU THERE, THEN YOU DO ROLL THE 2 WHITE DICE." (1)
  • When you land on a utility, are you paying n× only the white dice, or all three? "ONLY THE WHITE DICE" (1)
  • The chance card that moves you to the nearest utility - it says you roll the dice and pay 10x the amount thrown - does this override the statement on the utility property that says you pay 3x the amount shown on the dice if you own all three? IT DOES NOT OVERRIDE ANYTHING. GO WITH WHAT IT SAYS ON THE UTILITY CARD. (1)


  • If a player lands on AUCTION or goes there as a result of the next unowned property via Mr. Monopoly and wishes to auction it, he automatically enters a bid of $1. Thus, if no other player bids against him , he will acquire the deed for $1. (1)


  1. Joe Sequino, Vice President of Marketing for Winning Moves.
  2. Anonymous from Winning Moves.
  3. Official rulebook.


  • mark5ok contests the validity of this rule, writing, Okay, I CHALLENGE that rule!!! You state in your Official Rulebook that you only refer to the white dice when determining doubles, then you go on to say that you DON'T get to go again after rolling triples. Well, triples when refering to only the white dice IS STILL DOUBLES!!! You can't have it both ways!!!! I SAY KEEP triples as a doubles roll and allow people to take another turn!!! This is a situation that doesn't come up all that often anyway, so why not just keep a triples roll as counting as doubles??? That would make more sense and not CONTRADICT the "determining doubles" by the white dice rule!!!!!!!!!!!! - I'd like to hear other opinions on this matter... "SHOULD" triples count as a "Doubles" roll or not??? What do YOU Think???
  • BT14 I probably know the answer to this one. What happens if you have 3 of a group and you have houses on each and you then acquire the 4th by trade and the 4th is mortgaged. Are you then required to immediately unmortgage the 4th to keep even build?
  • TheDS The even-housing-when-getting-the-fourth-property rule is self-contradicting. I can move houses, but I have to sell a hotel? Plus, he says if I have houses, I don't HAVE TO build new houses immediately, but if I have hotels, I DO have to. To be consistent with the way Monopoly works, then we should force unmortgaging (if applicable) AND force either buying new houses OR selling off excess to even them out. No house moving, and no uneven builds!
  • Austinp44 When all properties are owned, and you roll My.Monopoly, you must go to the next property which you must [[[PAY RENT]]], so all you have to do is own one monopoly, mortgage all your properties except your monopoly and build hotels on them, and wait for someone to roll Mr. Monopoly, CHEAP!!!!


I have few questions that are not clear in the rules booklet.

Could you give some clarification on the following:

1- When mortgaging properties, half of the price is returned, but when Un-mortgaging these properties, is any money lost? If so how much? Or do we merely pay the mortgage price stated on the back? (The same amount we mortgaged the property for.)

2- We build houses, hotels and skyscrapers for the amount of money mentioned on the property cards. But do we sell it with the same amount? Or we lose money when breaking down houses? If so how much?

3- This one is a bit complicated. Regarding the speed dice and especially Mr. Monopoly.

So the rule says, if you get Mr. Monopoly you advance to the nearest unowned property, if all are owned, you advance to the nearest property that you will pay rent on.

So the situation is like this

Player A and player B are playing... all properties are either sold or mortgaged.

Player A intentionally sells one of his properties before rolling the dice. This is to ensure that if he gets Mr. Monopoly when he rolls, he won’t be forced to pay rent to player B (thus escaping the above rule). He then goes to the property he just sold and rebuys it. Of course risking losing it if he didn’t get Mr. Monopoly.
Is this ok? Is player A abiding by the rules?
Player As argument has two parts:
The first is that a player is free to buy, sell or build in his/her turn before or after rolling the dice.
The second is that if every player does the same, this means the mortgaged properties are circulated and this gives a chance for players to expand their lands instead of just waiting for others to land on un-mortgaged properties.

Player Bs argument is that Mr. Monopoly was meant to strengthen your position in the beginning of the game and bring you to your knees in the end.

So what is right and wrong here?

4- For the same reason above, players are intentionally mortgaging the properties that have no buildings on them, so other players would land on properties with buildings if they get Mr. Monopoly. Is this ok?

These are the questions and I am happy to explain more if needed.
I would appreciate your response about the right action for each request.


[What Links Here]