FAQ for Takenoko
List of game FAQs
Official FAQ from publisher web site
- A turn is divided into two phases:
- Roll the weather die and apply the corresponding effect (Sun, Rain, Wind, Storm, Cloud)
- Perform two different actions amongst the 5 standard actions (Plots, Irrigation channel, Gardener, Panda, Objective)
- The two actions are chosen sequentially. This means that if a player choses to draw a new objective card, he can look at it before deciding what his second action will be.
- No bamboo can grow on the starting pond tile.
- A plot can carry only one bamboo of the same color as the plot.
- The maximum height of a bamboo is 4 sections.
- A non-irrigated plot can never carry a bamboo.
- The pink plots (7) are more rare than the yellow plots (9), which are themselves more rare than the green plots (11).
- A plot is said to be “irrigated” if it is adjacent to the pond tile, if an irrigation channel is placed on one of its sides, or if it carries a watershed improvement.
- When a plot is irrigated for the first time, a bamboo section is immediately placed on it.
- When a plot is irrigated again (with a new irrigation channel, or with an improvement), no new section is added.
- Once it is irrigated, a plot stays irrigated until the end of the game.
- The weather effect Rain has no effect on a non-irrigated plot.
- When a player draws an objective card that is already fulfilled by the current game state, it is discarded (that includes Panda objectives)
- If this happens, the player immediately draws a new objective (of any type) and continues discarding until he reaches a non-fulfilled objective.
- The discarded objectives are put back under the pile they came from.
Placing a plot
- After drawing 3 plot tiles from the draw pile, the player places one in the playing area and puts the two others under the plot pile, face down, in the order of his choice.
- If the played plot is irrigated, a bamboo section (of the color of the plot) is immediately added on it.
- If the plot is not irrigated, it remains empty until it gets irrigated for the first time.
Adding an irrigation channel
- When a player gets an irrigation channel, he can decide to play it immediately or to keep it on his player mat and play it later in the game.
- At any time during his turn, a player can decide to place one or more irrigation channels from his player mat to the playing area.
- Placing an irrigation channel doesn’t count as an action and can be done at any time during the player’s turn.
- When a plot is irrigated for the first time thanks to the placement of an irrigation channel, a bamboo section is immediately placed on it.
- An irrigation channel must always be placed on the border of two adjacent plots.
- An irrigation channel must be connected to either the pond tile or to another irrigation channel.
Moving the gardener
- When a player choses the gardener action, he has to move the gardener.
- It is therefore forbidden to let the gardener stay where he is in order to make bamboo grow there.
- The gardener makes bamboo grow on the plot he ends his movement on (as long as the plot in question is irrigated).
- The gardener also makes bamboo grow on all adjacent plots of the same color as the one he is on (if those plots are irrigated).
- If the plot the gardener is on is not irrigated, the bamboo will still grow on the adjacent plots of the same color if they are irrigated.
- The gardener can cross the pond tile or can end his movement on it.
Move the Panda
- When a player choses the panda action, he has to move the panda.
- It is therefore forbidden to let the panda stay where he is in order to eat a bamboo section from the plot he is on.
- The panda can stop on an empty plot, in which case he doesn’t eat anything.
- The panda can cross the pond tile or can end his movement on it.
Drawing an objective card
- Players can never have more than 5 objective cards in their hand.
Fulfilling an Objective
- Fulfilling an objective does not count as an action, and has to be done during the player’s turn.
- It is possible to fulfill several objectives on the same turn.
- It is possible to fulfill the same objective several times during the course of the game.
- When an objective can be fulfilled, the player does not have to announce it right away. He can decide to keep it in his hand and to fulfill it later.
- In order for a plot objective to be fulfilled, all the appropriate plots must be irrigated.
- A plot objective is considered to be fulfilled if the plots in the playing area match those of the objective card. Rotating the card is allowed.
- Mirroring an objective card with four plots in order to fulfill it is not allowed.
- If an improvement is depicted on the card, it means that this improvement has to be present on the plot in the playing area, in order for the objective to be fulfilled.
- If three crossed out improvements are depicted on the card, it means that no improvements can be present on the plot in the playing area, in order for the objective to be fulfilled.
- If no improvements are depicted on the card, then it doesn’t matter if improvements are present or not on the plot in the playing area.
- The exact height and number and colour of bamboo shown must be present to meet one of these objectives. Neither a 4-height green bamboo or a 3 height yellow bamboo can be substituted for a 3-height green on an objective card. Four 3-height green bamboo requires four separate plots to have a 3-height green bamboo.
- The bamboo sections that are necessary to fulfill the objective are immediately discarded and put back in the main stock.
- On the very first round of the game, the weather dice is not thrown. This phase is therefore ignored.
- A player never has to apply the effect of the weather dice, he can decide to ignore it.
- The additional action has to be different from the two previous actions performed by the player.
- The Rain can only target irrigated plots (the Rain does not irrigate a non-irrigated plot).
- If the target plot does not carry any bamboo sections, a section is added to the plot.
- If the target plot carries a fertilizer improvement, 2 bamboo sections are added to the plot.
- The player can perform the same action twice (but does not get a third action).
- The panda can be moved to any plot in the playing area, including the pond tile. It doesn’t have to move in a straight line.
- The panda will eat a bamboo section from the plot he lands on (if the plot carries any bamboo).
- The bamboo section that gets eaten this way is placed on the player’s mat.
- If the player chooses to apply the effect of the storm, he has to move the panda to another plot (the panda cannot stay where he is in order to eat a section there; source).
- The panda can be moved to a tile with an 'enclosure' improvement, but it cannot eat any bamboo on that tile (source).
- If all improvements have already been drawn, the player can choose any other side of the weather dice.
- Improvements can only be added to plot tiles that do not carry any bamboo (either because they are not irrigated, or because the panda ate all the bamboo sections).
- A plot tile does not have to be irrigated in order to place an improvement on it.
- It is forbidden to add a second improvement to a plot tile that already has one (added or drawn on the plot)
- A player who places a new plot tile in the playing area can add an improvement just before bamboo grows on it.
- The panda is allowed to stop on a plot with an enclosure, but will not eat any bamboo from it.
- The fertilizer has no effect on a non-irrigated plot.
- An irrigated plot that carries a fertilizer improvement gets two bamboo sections every time bamboo grows.
- When the Rain falls on a fertilized plot, two bamboo sections get added to the plot. Also, when the plot gets irrigated for the first time, or when the gardener stops on the plot tile or on an adjacent plot tile of the same color, two bamboo sections get added to the plot.
- When a watershed improvement is added to a plot, it is immediately considered as irrigated.
- If thanks to a watershed improvement it is the first time a plot gets irrigated, a bamboo section is immediately added on it.
- A plot tile with a watershed improvement cannot be used to start a new network of irrigation channels (it does not replace the starting pond tile).
Thanks to Antoine Bauza, Sabrina, Fabien and Laudaphnis and Cedh on Trictrac for their help.