Article Edit | History | Editors

Texas Glory FAQ RSS Feed

FAQ
FAQ for Texas Glory

Info taken from FAQs in file area and various forum threads, consolidated into a Wiki page so that people can more easily find all the info in one place and update it.
List of game FAQs

Table of Contents

Current rules version is 1.01

You can download the current rules here:
http://www.columbiagames.com/cgi-bin/query/cfg/zoom.cfg?product_id=3041
Rule differences are summarized here:
http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/359418

Carl Willner (designer) discusses some rule points in the context of a WBC tournament here:
http://www.blockgames.us/viewtopic.php?t=2536

Carl's tournament rulings include:
  • Units that are regrouped into an unresolved battle are reserve units that don't enter combat until round 2, whether they are additional attacking units or defensive reinforcements
(note that this is the only time that attacking units in Texas Glory can be in reserve)
  • Attacking units may retreat via any hexside used to enter the battle hex, even if that hexside was last crossed by enemy units (unlike most other block games)
  • Hexside movement costs don't stack, so it only costs 1 MP to cross a ford (rather than 1 MP for the ford plus 1 MP for the road, or 2 total)
  • Cavalry relief units can only withdraw to a sieged fort/city in round 2 (when they arrive), not round 1

1.0 Hexes with disconnected land pieces on separate hexsides

The rules don't specify what to do about hexes like San Antonio Bay, where one group could enter from the northwest, and another group could enter from the northeast. One of the designers, Carl Willner, speaking for himself, suggests that for simplicity one can treat such hexes as a single land mass (so that enemy groups that are on separate land parts in the hex nonetheless fight each other), even though it may appear more logical to treat them as inaccessible - but that would raise other questions about supply in the hex. It's admittedly unclear. See also rule 1.6 about Galveston.
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/4394110#4394110
Luckily in practice it seems rare that enemy groups enter these ambiguous coastal hexes from different directions.

1.2 Towns vs cities

It would have been nice to have a visual summary of the terrain features since a picture's worth 1000 words. Blue or green stars with a red border are Cities (there are 6 of them). Blue or green stars (with or without a red border) are Victory towns. Blue or green dots are (ordinary) towns. The Alamo and Goliad are special: they are Forts for supply/siege purposes, and Victory towns for victory purposes.

1.6 Galveston's hex is only accessible by Sea Movement

All of Galveston's hexsides are impassible, so (despite appearances on the map), a group using normal land movement could not move directly south from New Washington, nor southeast from Liverpool.

2.0 The "black" Comanche label is dark brown

The "black" Comanche label is dark brown.
http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/358765

2.0 The orange blocks are to mark burned towns

The orange blocks have no labels and are just for marking burned towns (see 5.71). This is clarified in the rules version 1.01.

3.0 1835 Victory conditions slightly modified

In the original rules, the Texans had to control 4 of the 7 Green Victory towns. In 1.01, the Mexicans have to control 4 of the 7 Green Victory towns. This slight change was made so the Mexicans can't win by burning 4 of their own towns, preventing the Texans from being able to control 4.
http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/358852
http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/367492

3.0 1835 Gonzales has Militia Infantry

Version 1.01 of the rules clarifies that the Militia in Gonzales must be Infantry, not Cavalry:
http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/357673

4.0 You play 1 of your 3 cards, then draw 1 new card at the end of the turn

At the start of each turn, both players will play 1 of their 3 cards, keeping the other 2 in their hand. Then at the end of the turn, in the Supply phase, both players will draw 1 new card. In the last 2 turns of both scenarios (1835 and 1836), the deck will be empty, so in the next to last turn both players will play 1 of their 2 cards, and in the last turn both players will play their last card.

4.0 What if both cards are events?

An event card always outranks a non-event card. If both cards are events, the higher numbered one outranks the lower numbered one. In case of tie, the Mexicans are Player 1, just like if both cards are non-events.
http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/359586

5.11 Does leader command extend into Holding Boxes?

The rules don't clarify how Holding Boxes (e.g. Matamoros) work with leader command. I.e. does activating Santa Anna next to a Holding Box let him move the units that are in the Holding Box? It seems reasonable to assume they work like a hex in this regard, but there's no known official clarification.
http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/360948

One of the designers, Carl Willner, speaking for himself, says that a command radius does indeed extend into holding boxes.
http://boardgamegeek.com/article/4354543#4354543

5.11 A leader can cause another leader to move, but not activate

Leaders don't "activate" other leaders in the full sense of setting off a chain reaction of activations. But of course a leader can cause a leader to move, just like any other block in range of the activated leader.
http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/424883

5.11 Can Santa Anna's command be traced through an enemy occupied hex?

The rules don't say whether Santa Anna's command can be traced through an enemy occupied hex. It seems reasonable to assume that (like with impassible hexsides) it cannot.
http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/359788

One of the designers, Carl Willner, speaking for himself, says that Santa Anna's command radius indeed must stop in an enemy occupied hex, pointing out that the exit hexside is effectively impassible.
http://boardgamegeek.com/article/4354543#4354543

5.2 There is no concept of always being able to move 1 hex

In particular, artillery (which has only 1 MP) cannot cross a forest hexside, even if force marching (+1 MP).
http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/360419

5.3 Hexside limits represent the number of blocks allowed to cross a hexside while attacking

Although never stated, the numbers in the Attack column in the Terrain Effects table represent the number of blocks that are allowed to cross a particular type of terrain hexside while attacking.

5.6 Artillery with only 1 step cannot force march

Since there is the risk of elimination if a 1-step unit force marches, but artillery cannot be eliminated, artillery with only 1 step cannot force march.
http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/360419

5.71 Why burn towns?

Many players report never finding it worth burning towns in their games. The 2 obvious reasons to burn them are to reduce the supply of a hex that you expect to be taken by the opponent, and to eliminate the need to garrison a Victory town and eliminate the risk of losing a Victory town. Note that only Victory towns can be burned, not other towns or camps.
http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/367492

5.71 The gained forage step from burning must go to a block in that hex

It's not explicitly stated, but it seems obvious that the step gained from burning a town must go to a unit in the hex where you burned the town, not to any unit anywhere on the map.
http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/360566

Likewise, a unit that is moved with a burn card must be a unit in the burned hex. (The unit burns the hex and then runs away.)

5.71 You can only burn one town per turn

"A burn card gives a player the option to burn one friendly occupied Victory Town..." The emphasized "one" is intentional.
http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/504605/burn-multiple-towns-per-turn

5.71 Forts can be burned

The Alamo and Goliad, under rule 1.3, count as both Forts and Victory Towns. Therefore, the two forts are burnable.
http://boardgamegeek.com/article/5429729#5429729

5.71 No sea movement out of a just-burned port

To do sea movement, a unit must start in a port. So you can't burn a port, then sea move out of it, since at the time of the attempted sea movement, the port no longer exists.
http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/504603/burn-then-sea-moveattack

5.71 Leader foraging and activating units?

The rules are not clear on this. Co-designer Carl Willner wrote this thoughts here:
http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/503955/can-a-leader-burn-then-activate-in-the-same-turn

6.31 Applying hits in combat (or supply attrition): A/B/C is irrelevant

Hits are assigned to the strongest enemy block(s) out of the entire pool of enemy blocks, regardless of the initiative category of the firing blocks. Hits are assigned sequentially, so that each individual hit is assigned (in order, one at a time) to the strongest unit at the instant that each hit is being applied. If multiple units are tied for being the strongest, the player under fire chooses which unit receives the hit.

Example:

A 4-strength unit rolls four hits against a 3-strength unit and two 4-strength units. The first two hits are assigned to the two 4-strength units (one apiece) because they are currently the strongest units. (Technically, in sequence, the first hit is assigned to one of the 4-strength units - as chosen by the player currently under fire - and then the second hit is assigned to the other 4-strength unit. But since both 4-strength units are definitely receiving hits, it’s just as easy to assign both hits at the same time.) The remaining two hits are assigned to any two of the three units (again, by the player under fire), since - after the 4-strength units each take one hit - all three units are now tied at 3 strength. Once all four hits have been assigned, the defender is left with one 3-strength unit and two 2-strength units.

6.5 Regrouped units cannot initiate a new battle

Regrouped units can join an unresolved battle and fight in that battle, but they may not initiate a new battle by regrouping to an area that only contains enemy units.

6.6 Replacements for eliminated leaders

The rule that Austin is placed into the draw pool if Houston is eliminated is also in effect for the 1836 scenario, even though Austin is not ordinarily used in the scenario and is set aside at the start.
http://boardgamegeek.com/article/5429729#5429729

6.7 Artillery surrenders only when it's alone and has only 1 step

Artillery can defend itself alone, but when it's reduced to 1 step, then it will surrender and be exchanged for the matching enemy artillery block of the same strength.
http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/358039

6.7 Artillery can fire in the field if not in a fort/city hex

The rule that artillery can only defend inside a fort/city (and not on the battlefield) only applies if the artillery unit is defending a fort/city hex. If the artillery unit has moved to a non-fort/non-city hex, it is allowed to fire in the field. It is even able to fire as the attacker on an enemy-held fort/city from the field.
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@373.BZhobe7yodt.16@.1dd302d7/27

6.7 Comanche block counts as an enemy unit for artillery capture

In the unusual event that the Comanche block attacks an artillery unit in a non-fort hex, the Comanche block counts as an enemy unit for the purposes of capturing the artillery.
http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/556729/comanche-block-and-1-strength-artillery-unit

7.0 Siege Example has typo (A2 instead of A3)

In the Siege Example "Combat Phase", the sentence "Texan opts for a cannonade, firing 2 dice at A2" should say "A3".
http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/414594

7.22 Storming units: Free exchange before round 2

The "free exchange" that is allowed between storming/reserve blocks before round 2 of storming doesn't have to be a one-for-one exchange. You can exchange 1-for-2, 3-for-1, etc. The number of storming blocks can be increased at will from the reserves, up to the fort (4) or city (6) storming maximum. The number of storming blocks can be decreased at will, down to a minimum of one block.

7.22 "Withdraw to siege" means retreat to the siege hex

The rule that storming blocks may only withdraw to siege means that - when these blocks either choose to retreat on their combat turn or are forced to retreat during the third round of combat - storming blocks can only retreat to the field in the siege hex. Once they withdraw, they remain as sieging blocks in the siege hex.

7.23 Sallying units and assigning hits

Circumstances may arise in which sallying blocks receive hits from the sieging blocks (the defenders) in the field, and some sallying units have Double Defense (artillery supporting the sally, units that have not yet fired) and other sallying units do not (units that have already fired). In these cases, the sallying player can assign hits amongst equal-strength blocks in the most advantageous manner.

For example, if two C blocks siege an A (leader) block and a C block - and the sieged blocks choose to sally - then the A block comes out first and fires (and loses its Double Defense), after which the two defending (besieging) C blocks in the field fire. If the two C blocks score a single hit, and if the two sallying blocks are equal in strength, the sallying player can assign the hit to the double defense C block (which hasn't left the fort/city yet), hoping that it won't take another hit and the damage is wasted. Note, however, that the next hit on the sallying blocks would have to be assigned to the already-hit C block, per 7.1.
http://boardgamegeek.com/article/5429729#5429729

8.1 Supply is checked for each hex individually and independently

There is no concept of supply lines, and it doesn't matter if a battle was fought in a hex. Each hex can supply 2 units, with additional units for cities, towns, forts, and camps in the hex. If there are more units than the supply capacity, simply roll as many dice as the excess, and then for each 1-3 rolled, you lose a step from the unit with the highest steps, just like combat losses.
http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/415064

[What Links Here]