FAQ for Tsuro
List of game FAQs
Q: What does the dragon tile do?
A: The rules included in the box are really unclear about the dragon tile, but it is really quite simple. The dragon tile is a marker indicating who gets first draw in the event the draw pile runs out. This draw begins immediately upon the surrender of any (eliminated) player's tiles to the draw pile. The dragon tile remains either at the bottom of the draw pile, or in the hand of the first player unable to draw.
(The Kosmos edition of Tsuro has no dragon tile. It has 64 tiles, which is more than enough not to run out)
Q: My pawn is on an endlessly looping path! Have I won?
A: No, you have made a mistake somewhere. Your path should run from your starting point at the edge of the board to where you are now; this means endless loops are impossible. Try to figure out where you started, and trace your path again to where your pawn should be.
Q: On the tile where all the paths meet in the middle, can I choose which I want to follow?
A: No, there is never a choice. On any intersection, go straight ahead - no matter how many paths intersect at that point.
Q: Where can I place my tiles?
A: There is always exactly one space you can place your tile, and that is the one next to your pawn. Placing a tile will always lengthen your own path, so you will always have to move your pawn after playing a tile.
Q: My board has 36 spaces but only 35 tiles with paths. Am I missing a tile?
A: No, there are exactly 35 tiles as these are exactly 35 possible different tiles with 4 paths each. This means it is possible to end up with multiple pawns around the last remaining gap - they are all considered winners.
(The Kosmos edition of Tsuro has 64 tiles, which is more than enough to fill the board completely)
Q: Can this game end with multiple winners?
A: Yes, it can: there are 35 tiles but 36 spaces on the board. It is possible for multiple pawns to end up at the edge of the remaining gap. There is a solitaire variant based on this.
(The Kosmos edition of Tsuro has enough tiles to fill the board completely, so either there is a winner or all remaining players are eliminated at the same time)
Q: Why does a collision between two players eliminate them both?
A: Go on, ignore the rule. Move the pawns as usual to the end of their paths and you will see they end up at each others starting point, i.e. off the board. Thus they are both eliminated regardless whether you use the collision rule or not.
Q: What is the difference between the new Kosmos edition and earlier editions?
A: First of all, the Kosmos edition board has two sides, one with the standard 6x6 grid, the other with a 7x7 grid. To fill this larger board, it also contains 64 tiles instead of 35. Nearly all tiles are included twice, with the following exceptions:
- straight crossing
- curved crossing
- star crossing ("asterisk")
- 4 U-turns
- 4 sharp corner curves
- 2 U-turns with 2 straights
As there are sufficient tiles in the Kosmos edition, it contains no dragon tile.